Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Blue Screen Again
jolop72
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-21-2010
Location: Portugal
0

Install XP on M90

[ Edited ]

Hello, I've bought a M90 desktop and it came with W7.

I want to install my copy (original) of XP but don't know how to change the BIOS.

Can anyone help me please?

Thank you.

 

 

buddinggeek
Posts: 2,852
Topics: 105
Kudos: 140
Blog Posts: 0
Solutions: 118
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Location: Texas A&M University, Commerce
0

Re: Install XP on M90

Change the compatability options from SATA to AHCI that should help





Cheers and regards,
• » νιנαソѕαяα∂нι ѕαмανє∂αм ™ « •
Think : T410,X220T,Thinkpad Yoga
Idea :3000H,Z500,U410,Yoga 11, Yoga tab 10,Horizon
●๋•کáŕádhí'ک díáŕý ツ


I am a volunteer here. I don't work for Lenovo
Blue Screen Again
jolop72
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-21-2010
Location: Portugal
0

Re: Install XP on M90

Tried that...

It always get stucked at the "Setup is starting Windows"...

Paper Tape
estouch
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-10-2011
Location: Newton NJ
0

Re: Install XP on M90

I get the blue windows setup screen and now get no USB KB input. I can't do anything.... If i set it to IDE i get the BOD. tried on 2 systems no luck, however i have had sucess installing xp on a M58P

Punch Card
kmurphy
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎10-13-2009
Location: Manchester, NH
0

Re: Install XP on M90

I have been able to install XP onto an M90 as long as I set the SATA option to IDE.  If I don't, then the setup bluescreens right after it goes through trying to load all the drivers.

 

I also wasn't able to install the latest Intel chipset software.  The instructions indicate that it can be installed after OS Install but those instructions to match up with what I see in the device mgr for replacing these drivers.

 

What isn't included with this driver download is the ability to create a diskette for use in inserting the drive during the actual XP install (by pressing F6, I think). This would simplify things greatly.

 

Can anyone help?


Thanx,
Kevin Murphy
Retired Guru
Duck3
Posts: 2,089
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
Location: USA
0

Re: Install XP on M90

If you want to use a floppy and the "F6" method,
Intel support should have the files.
Be sure to identify the proper chipset controller first.

Also the drivers can be "slipstreamed" onto a
XP install disk you create, but this is a fairly
complicated process.
Punch Card
kmurphy
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎10-13-2009
Location: Manchester, NH

Re: Install XP on M90

Confirming a previous post, I downloaded the Intel 5/2400 Series SATA ACHI Controller drivers, which included the files that can be put on a floppy so that you can hit F6 during the XP install.

 

That way you don't have to change any SATA settings in the BIOS.


Thanx,
Kevin Murphy
Fanfold Paper
redcell
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-14-2011
Location: Italy
0

Re: Install XP on M90

I've solved the problem here You'll find how to :smileyhappy: