Support in other languages: 
Fanfold Paper
nerfherder

graphics card compatibility?

[ Edited ]

Hello..

This afternoon, a Lenovo landed on my workbench. It belongs to a friend of mine and I promised to see what I can do about getting it a bit more up to date. Problem is, I have no experience with Lenovo and info on this thing has not been easy to find.

It is an older model but seems in good condition and works just fine. From what I can tell it is a Thinkcentre M55. 

Not sure about which M55 but it has a core 2 6300, if that tells you anything. 

The motherboard is not one that I'm familiar with. This is what info I could find on it:

Link to picture

What I need is to find a graphics card for it. I know he doesn't want to spend a whole lot on it (understandebly). As long as it has a DVI port (which is lacking at the moment) and has a bit more horsepower than the onboard. HDMI would not be turned down, but is not a requirement.

Any suggestions?

This may seem like a very stupid question, not since this thing is new to me, I felt it best to ask. Just to be on the safe side.

I haven't been able to find any real info on it, so for all I know, it could have some limited compatibility.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Moderator note; picture(s) totalling >50K converted to link(s) Forum Rules

Guru
BiggAl

Re: graphics card compatibility?

From a search of earlier posts:

"the M55 won't support ATI 5xxx class graphics card, but when you upgrade to the ATI 3xxx or 4xxx GPU you need to consider the power demand and PSU power rating. "
Fanfold Paper
nerfherder

I did see that post, but it doesn't really answer much.

ATI 3xxx and 4xxx cards come in at leats 5 different interfaces. So far I have only been able to find one single PCIe X16 card from those series, that is still being sold (Radeon HD 4550 512Mb). Unless I order it from another country, which I would prefer to avoid.