Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Paper Tape
tical
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
Location: United States
0

m57 second hard drive

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

Is it possible to install a second hard drive instead of the CD-ROM drive into ThinkCentre M57 SFF? If so, are there any instructions?

 

Thanks for your help!

lead_org
Posts: 20,905
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,254
Solutions: 1,343
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: m57 second hard drive

Yes you can but there is no instruction as such.

You would need a 3.5 inch to 5.25 inch adapter in order to fit a standard 3.5 inch hdd in that slot.

I remember there is an eSATA slot in the back of the m57 sff, maybe use that?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
sameerbhan
Posts: 293
Topics: 2
Kudos: 16
Solutions: 10
Registered: ‎02-01-2012
Location: Inda
0

Re: m57 second hard drive

You can use the second hard drive instead of the CD-ROM, in order to do so, use Metal Hard Drive cage(bezel).

 

Also, the maximum Hard Drive that support the system is 500GB 7200rpm.

 

Regards,

Sameer

 


Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution".! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

lead_org
Posts: 20,905
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,254
Solutions: 1,343
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: m57 second hard drive

the M57 can work fine with 2 tb hdd that i got.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Paper Tape
tical
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
Location: United States
0

Re: m57 second hard drive

Thanks for your response. If I buy a standard 3.5 HD, e.g.

 

http://www.amazon.com/Western-Digital-Caviar-Internal-Desktop/dp/B004CSIG1G/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1...

 

is it sufficient to buy these kind of brackets:

 

http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-Universal-Mounting-Bracket-BRACKET/dp/B0001UZQWG/ref=sr_1_1?s=ele...

 

or do I also need some sort of adapter for the cable?

 

AFAIK eSATA requires a separate power source, so I would prefer to use the internal connectors.

cdm
What's DOS?
cdm
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-19-2012
Location: Germany
0

Re: m57 second hard drive

One quick-and-dirty solution is just to grab the side brackets off of your current optical drive and put the onto a cheap/spare/defect CD Rom.  Use only the casing of the spare one and put your new hard drive into it. It is not a solution that look just beautiful as an original tray (if there is any for this model?) but it is a technically a good one.

 

Just did it a week ago with no problems at all.