- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Mark Topic as New
- Mark Topic as Read
- Float this Topic to the Top
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Printer Friendly Page
Is email from "systemaut o@mmedia.m is.com.sg" legitimate ?
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Email to a Friend
- Report Inappropriate Content
09-14-2009 05:58 PM
I just received an email that seems to be from Levovo, sent from systemauto@mmedia.mis.com.sg. Has anyone seen email from this source before? I used the Windows Mail message detail function to display the raw file but it looks to be a picture file, you know, just packed lines of characters and numbers, with no readable text. I tend to the paranoid, so I haven't opened it in Mail.
Thanks.
Y550 4186-46U 64-bit Vista
Solved! Go to Solution.
Re: Is email from "systemaut o@mmedia.m is.com.sg" legitimate ?
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Email to a Friend
- Report Inappropriate Content
09-14-2009 06:23 PM
aspalmacin wrote:
I just received an email that seems to be from Levovo, sent from systemauto@mmedia.mis.com.sg. Has anyone seen email from this source before? I used the Windows Mail message detail function to display the raw file but it looks to be a picture file, you know, just packed lines of characters and numbers, with no readable text. I tend to the paranoid, so I haven't opened it in Mail.
I wouldn't open it if it were me.
What about it makes you think it's from Lenovo?
Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!
Jane
I do not work for Lenovo.
Follow the forum on Twitter
If you need help, post your question in the forum, and include your system type, model number and OS.
Do not post your serial number.
I do NOT respond to PM or e-mail requests for individual tech support.
Did someone help you today? Give 'em a Kudo! ;-)
Re: Is email from "systemaut o@mmedia.m is.com.sg" legitimate ?
[ Edited ]
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Email to a Friend
- Report Inappropriate Content
09-14-2009 06:42 PM - last edited on 09-14-2009 06:42 PM
Did you register for the Windows 7 Upgrade Program?
systemauto@mmedia.mis.com.sg has been mentioned as the source of emails associated with it, here and here.
Re: Is email from "systemaut o@mmedia.m is.com.sg" legitimate ?
[ Edited ]
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Email to a Friend
- Report Inappropriate Content
09-15-2009 09:34 AM - last edited on 09-15-2009 09:41 AM
Yes, I did register for the Windows 7 upgrade. And the Subject: line of the email reads, "LENOVO0195321 - POP Validation - Pass", so maybe it IS from lenovo. But as I said, I'm paranoid about opening emails that I don't expect to receive.
Given the text in the Subject: line, has anyone seen this before and is it legitimate?
-------------
Update: Based on the strength of the two links supplied by "bananaman", I opened the email. Yes, it's from Lenovo and Yes, it references my registration for the Windows 7 Upgrade. Partial text from the email reads:
"... We are pleased to inform that your Proof of Purchase has been successfully validated and your order(s) will now be processed...."
-------------
Thanks.
Y550 4186-46U 64-bit Vista
Re: Is email from "systemaut o@mmedia.m is.com.sg" legitimate ?
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Email to a Friend
- Report Inappropriate Content
01-13-2010 11:17 AM
You don't need to worry about this one. Lenovo is using mmedia to fulfill its orders for Windows 7 upgrades. I've been working for a few weeks with lenovo/IBM and mmedia trying to get my free upgrade from Vista(yuk) to Windows 7. Although that task is not yet finished, the address you list is legit.
Hope this helps.
PS. If you haven't been trying something like this upgrade, I would ignore it and not open it.
