Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Paper Tape
LookingforTI
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-28-2010
Location: Seattle
0

Native Texas Instruments Chipset For Firewire Port

I am wanting a laptop for a Digital Audio Workstation.  My soundcard wants to see Firewire supported by the Texas Instruments chipset which is all over the net as being difficult to find. 

 

1.  Is there a laptop by lenovo that uses Texas Instruments chipset to support the firewire port?

 

2.  If so, is the port shared with anything else?

 

3.  Anyone using a leveno of any sort for a DAW. 

 

Thanks

 

topmahof
Posts: 3,186
Topics: 35
Kudos: 352
Solutions: 237
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
Location: Etters, PA
0

Re: Native Texas Instruments Chipset For Firewire Port

Can't answer number 1 or number 2 but for number 3 I'm using Audacity 1.2.6 in xp. There's a beta version for windows 7 but I haven't tried that yet.  The software is free.  I use it on an x41.  

 

I use it because precise adjustments can be made to the audio's speed while maintaining pitch in order to synchonize it with video, (Audacity calls it tempo) or run from a predetermined lenght of time.  I also couldn't do without the undo feature. 

 

It's not a resource hog at all in xp but as I understand it, in windows 7 you need 4 gb of ram and my x41 will only take 2 gb.

 

It also has support in linux. 

_______________________________________________________
T430u, x301, x200T, x61T, 2-x61s, x60T, x32, x41T, x40, U160, ThinkPad Tablet 1838-22R, Z500 touch, Yoga 10
Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!
If someone helped you today, pay it forward. Help Someone Else!
English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество
lead_org
Posts: 20,905
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,253
Solutions: 1,344
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: Native Texas Instruments Chipset For Firewire Port

Most of the recent thinkpads that have Firewire use the Ricoh controller.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
goretsky
Posts: 2,004
Topics: 19
Kudos: 357
Solutions: 142
Registered: ‎12-01-2007
Location: California, USA

Re: Native Texas Instruments Chipset For Firewire Port

Hello,

 

Syba makes an ExpressCard to FireWire (IEEE-1394) adapters that uses a Texas Instruments chipset:

 

 

Note that they also make adapters with VIA's FireWire chipset, so make sure you order the correct one.

 

Lacie has a Firewire/800 card, too:  Firewire 800 ExpressCard 34.

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee. • Dexter is a good dog • Dexter je dobrý pes
S230u (3347-4HU)X220 (4286-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)T61p (6459-CTO)T43p (2678-H7U)T42 (2378-R4U)T23 (2648-LU7)
de.gif  Deutsche Community es.gif  Comunidad en Español ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество
Paper Tape
LookingforTI
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-28-2010
Location: Seattle
0

Re: Native Texas Instruments Chipset For Firewire Port

Okay, this is a difficult search, so now I am wondering if any out there in the lenovo world knows if there bios will give them access to C1E or Powerstates manager, HPET (high precision event timer), and or SpeedStep?  This is for laptops only.

 

What's DOS?
normington
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-06-2012
Location: Guildford, UK
0

Re: Native Texas Instruments Chipset For Firewire Port

Hi,

 

I'm facing the same issue. I'm deciding which laptop to get and would love a thinkpad but I need TI firewire. Did you (OP) have any luck with your queries?

 

Thanks,