04-24-2012 03:23 PM
First go into "Settings" > "Accounts & Sync" and make sure you turn off Contact Sync for each of your accounts otherwise they will just be re-downloaded again.
Go into "Settings" > "Apps" > "All" > "Contacts Storage" and "Clear Data".
Your contacts should now be empty and as long as you turned off Contact Syncing they will not be re-downloaded.
04-25-2012 05:55 AM - edited 04-25-2012 05:56 AM
To addon, another way to delete the contacts is to log into your gmail account and delete them that way.
If you didn't know, it sync's with your gmail contacts. So what Khanning says is best to not lose those contacts. Just go and turn off sync contacts.
Hope this helps.
04-25-2012 06:26 AM
Note that if you delete your contacts from your tablet (and turn off synch), they're gone from the tablet only.
But if you delete your contacts in Google, they're gone from any phone, PC or tablet you may use.
Not sure which is your choice.