Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Punch Card
prfstrkr
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎12-12-2011
Location: US
0

K1 Update Mode?

Can someone provide me the detailed instruction to enter update mode for K1?

 

I have

1) downloaded and placed update.zip and update.xml in download folder

2) pressed down volume + and power simultaneously

3) released both buttons once Lenovo splash screen showed up

 

but it still booted up in normal mode.

 

What am I missing?

 

Thanks

Punch Card
traihan
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎01-20-2012
Location: usa
0

Re: K1 Update Mode?

try releasing the power button first, then the vol+ button

Core Memory
error404
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎12-28-2011
Location: .
0

Re: K1 Update Mode?

[ Edited ]

have done the same as prfstrkr and also can not get to recovery/update mode, just goes from lenovo logo to the nvidia sequence and boots normally.
the update.zip/xml files are gone from download folder when the k1 is done rebooting.

Core Memory
error404
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎12-28-2011
Location: .
0

Re: K1 Update Mode?

this is really starting to get to me.
i put the update.zip/xml files in "download" and shut down.
i hold the vol+ button then press and hold the power button. the white LEDs near the OFN come on then the screen backlight comes on, goes off then comes back on again. the white LEDs go out. the word lenovo then comes up and sits a few seconds.
at this point, if i dont let go the power button, the k1 will power off.
if i let go of the power button when i see "lenovo" it displays the nvidia screen and boots normally. i am still holding vol+ but i have NEVER seen a recovery/flash screen.
when i get into the OS the update.xml/zip files are GONE but no update has happened.
i am minutes from reducing this tablet to its component parts via hammer.
Token Ring
Clear_Blue_Lou
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎12-09-2011
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
0

Re: K1 Update Mode?

AFAIK it's the update process that deletes update.zip and update .xml from the Download folder. That means you're using the buttons right, and your issue is that it doesn't apply the update before deleting it.

 

What version are you currently running and what version are you trying to update too?

Core Memory
error404
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎12-28-2011
Location: .
0

Re: K1 Update Mode?

currently at K1_A301_04_04_111017_US with superuser permission app but missing a lot that came installed stock. will NOT OTA successfully.

 

was at 99_99. timmydean'ed to 02_02 i believe (Lenovo_windows.7z with the superuser permission app but missing a lot of the stock stuff).

OTA to 04_04_111017, still has superuser app still missing stock apps, will NOT OTA any higher. "looks for updates" then tells me it has one to install, reboots, but no version change.

have factory reset. have installed a wacky Chinese one that wouldnt boot (PQXU200.2H.0013.W.CN.0729.zip, gold medallion after word nvidia with wooshing sounds) and re-timmydean'ed again and stuck at 04_04_111017.

have tried vol+ and power recovery mode to try to go from the 04_04 (and previously 99_99) back to 02_02_110725, and to 04_04_111017. i have tried  14_14_120109 as well. will not enter recovery mode just eats the update files. all versions are US versions.

i was also trying to figure out how to make the folders in the stock OTA's into .img files to update that way. everyone says that if you can do the nvflash thing you can then put together your own images from the stock OTA's or whatever you want. i know the .img files are ext4 formated partitions. i can see inside with various programs, but not write or replace, and when i google how to make .img files for android rooting, it doesnt go well.

as a probably unrelated side note: the 14_14_120109 does NOT have a blob file in it i have noticed.

SCSI Port
st_albert
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎11-26-2011
Location: TN-USA
0

Re: K1 Update Mode?

Can you update to K1_A301_99_99_121231_US ?  If so, then perhaps the other updates you are trying are failing some sort of sanity check at the start of the update process, and thus are deleted without installing.  (Just wildly guessing, here).

Core Memory
error404
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎12-28-2011
Location: .
0

Re: K1 Update Mode?

it downloaded but it wouldnt update to 99_99, but i used the K1+-+PermanentRoot to make it back to 02_02_110725_US. it seems to have all its apps. i will now try the OTAs to get back to 14_14.
Core Memory
error404
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎12-28-2011
Location: .
0

Re: K1 Update Mode?

OTA made it back to 14_14_120109. it seems to be stock, but i never did use or see the recovery mode (vol+ and power).
if anyone cares i listed the order of the OTAs since i had a lot of time:
02_02_110725 to 03_03_110829 to 04_04_111017 to 11_11_111025 to 12_12_111109 to 13_13_111209 to 14_14_120109
Punch Card
Whitesnake
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-23-2008
Location: Verona, NJ
0

Re: K1 Update Mode?

How did you make it back to 14_14  instructions please