Support in other languages: 
Paper Tape
jaypuck

K1 - Won't Power On, Been Repaired Once

I purchased my fiancee a 32gb K1 for Christmas, and sometime in January it simply would not turn on. Tried everything I could think of (power button for 10, 20, 30, hooking up via USB, etc). She called Lenovo and they had her send the unit in for repair. I work in tech support for the consumer electronics industry so I know sometimes things happen, no big deal. Not happy about having a 1 month old Tablet repaired, but hey, its better than being out of a tablet, right?

Well, she got the tablet back a couple of weeks ago and the included information said that they had "reseated the battery". Ok, the battery came unplugged. Poor design if it can happen that easily, but whatever. Fast forward (not much, just about a week mind you) and she messages me today to let me know that it is not powering on again. Ran through all the same tests as before, same results. Since I was at work, I asked her to call Lenovo and see what they had to say. The tech she spoke to told her (and I asked her to repeat it several times to be sure I was hearing her correctly) that she had basically ruined the battery by charging it while it was powered on, charging it before it died, and removing it from charge before it hit 100%. So, according to this dude, the K1 isn't capable of running off of AC power, and its spiffy Lithium Polymer battery is apparently subject to a memory issue that I thought disappeared with NiCd batteries in the early 90's. Interesting.