Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Token Ring
fred_yu_job
Posts: 183
Registered: ‎09-17-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: New ROM - 2643_US is posted in the otatest server

FTP server needs user ID and password; I don't think I should post it here
802.11n
ScooterCat
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎11-09-2011
Location: Jax, FL
0

Re: New ROM - 2643_US is posted in the otatest server

[ Edited ]

fred_yu_job wrote:
FTP server needs user ID and password; I don't think I should post it here

But Google is your friend:

Search "ftp site:bbs.lenovomobile.com" and you will find.  It's still up on the FTP.

 

 

It's still on the HTTP site, whether it shows up or not:

http://download.lenovo.com/slates/a1/otatest/A107W0_A234_001_015_2643_US.zip

  :catvery-happy:

Token Ring
fred_yu_job
Posts: 183
Registered: ‎09-17-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: New ROM - 2643_US is posted in the otatest server

which version is better, RAW or US ?

Punch Card
fKing
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎01-13-2012
Location: brooklyn, ny
0

Re: New ROM - 2643_US is posted in the otatest server

sorry, newbie question: how do i install this?
Paper Tape
9balls
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-10-2012
Location: JP
0

Re: New ROM - 2643_US is posted in the otatest server

I tried 2643_ROW.
Framework has been fixed, google map 6.3.0 will work.
Maybe, google map will work with 2643_US.
The other has been fixed, I do not know in detail.

Token Ring
smalcom
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎11-08-2011
Location: United States
0

Re: New ROM - 2643_US is posted in the otatest server


fKing wrote:
sorry, newbie question: how do i install this?

I have the same question. Is this a method to root the A1, or is this an update to the system software that hopefully fixes some issues?

IdeaPad A1-07
iPhone 3GS
802.11n
ScooterCat
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎11-09-2011
Location: Jax, FL
0

Re: New ROM - 2643_US is posted in the otatest server

[ Edited ]

smalcom wrote:

fKing wrote:
sorry, newbie question: how do i install this?

I have the same question. Is this a method to root the A1, or is this an update to the system software that hopefully fixes some issues?


This is a TEST system update which hopefully fixes some of the issues encountered with the  A107W0_A234_001_010_2375_US software build.  It does not root the tablet (although it can be rooted afterward if you choose to do so).

 

To install the test update, download A107W0_A234_001_015_2643_US.zip, rename it to update.zip, and copy it to the root of the SD card.

 

Shutdown the A1, then:

Press and hold the Volume down button and power button until the tablet vibrates.  Relase the power button at that time but continue to hold the volume down button until you see the update screen (a box with an arrow and an Android).  Release the volume down button at that time and let the update install.  When it's finished, the tablet will shut down.  Power it back up and your new system software will be running.

Token Ring
tinybeetle
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎11-11-2011
Location: Largo, FL
0

Re: New ROM - 2643_US is posted in the otatest server

To restate what the previous person said, this is a TEST firmware. If you are a newbie, or a noob, do NOT attempt to install this. You might brick (turn your device into a useless brick-like hunk of plastic, glass, and silicon) your A1.

 

Once this has been tested and approved it will be automatically made available for over-the-air (OTA) update for your A1. You A1 will check, and if it sees the update it will offer to download and install it.

Punch Card
fKing
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎01-13-2012
Location: brooklyn, ny
0

Re: New ROM - 2643_US is posted in the otatest server

life is short, will probably try it.... ;-)
Token Ring
fred_yu_job
Posts: 183
Registered: ‎09-17-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: New ROM - 2643_US is posted in the otatest server


9balls wrote:

I tried 2643_ROW.
Framework has been fixed, google map 6.3.0 will work.
Maybe, google map will work with 2643_US.
The other has been fixed, I do not know in detail.


Thanks for the sharing.

but are you sure the Google Maps 6.3.0 won't casue the reboot anymore?