Support in other languages: 
Reply
Paper Tape
davecason
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-14-2012
Location: Calgary
0

tether or something to be able to get my K1 to see my BB phone for internet

HI,

 

Has anyone managed to get their K1 tablet to see and use a blackberry phone as the internet access point with bluetooth?  I lost my USB cable so I have run with bluetooth or wifi but can't get either to work.

 

Chers'

Dave

 

 

 

Fanfold Paper
kennethrkennedy
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-11-2012
Location: USA
0

Re: tether or something to be able to get my K1 to see my BB phone for internet

Hi Dave Are you trying to connect to your blackberry with wifi tether? If so, some tethering apps tether in "ad hoc" mode and the wpa supplicant used on the K1 is designed not to see ad hoc networks. I too had this same issue when trying to use wifi tether on my old android phone. I found a way around this by using a modified wpa supplicant on my tablet that would see the ad hoc connection and allow me to connect. If you are rooted you can replace your wpa supplicant with the one in the dropbox link below. http://db.tt/cmDzrtKu 1 Download adhoctablets.zip in the link provided 2 Using rootexplorer or any file explorer with root permissions unzip the file adhoctablets.zip which has the modified wpa_supplicant 3 Rename your old wpa supplicant located at /system/bin to wpa_supplicant.bak so you can restore it later if you want. 4 Copy the wpa supplicant you unzipped and paste it in /system/bin 5 Change permissions of the new wpa supplicant to, owner rwx ,group r-x ,others r-x 6 change owner to root and group to shell Let me know how this works for you and feel free to ask any questions if you have any.
Paper Tape
davecason
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-14-2012
Location: Calgary
0

Re: tether or something to be able to get my K1 to see my BB phone for internet

Hey Thanks .....

 

I'm not rooted yet so I'll go hunt for the how-to's and see how far i get ! (grin)

 

Cheers'
Dave

Paper Tape
ne0rmatrix
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-16-2012
Location: Delta, B.C. Canada
0

Re: tether or something to be able to get my K1 to see my BB phone for internet

Here is another way if you are rooted. This method requires you be rooted and and have pc cable for K1. It uses adb but you do not need anything more than this package to make it work. Ohh you do need drivers for your device but you do not need to install the full android sdk or anything.

 

This package first backs up your wifi supplicant file and then replaces it with one that allows ad-hoc networks. I have had no issues and it works great for me. I found it on xda-developers and i recommend you check that site out  as it explains a lot about how all this stuff works and has a lot of faq and how-to's.

 

Here is a download link for the package: http://mir.cr/E2WRU2CC 

 

Here is the adb driver package you need for K1 to work with adb:  http://mir.cr/0G1OAPEI 

 

Here is a link to le-tools on the lenovo download which if i remember correctly has the driver package you need. http://download.lenovo.com/slates/k1/letools/letools/LeTools_MultiLang_x86_x64_Full_setup_20320.exe

 

I include the letools so you can copy files back and forth. It might be necessary so please install it too.

--
"I like to tell people I have the heart of a small boy. Then I say it's in a jar on my desk."
- Stephen King
Paper Tape
davecason
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-14-2012
Location: Calgary
0

Re: tether or something to be able to get my K1 to see my BB phone for internet

OK, thanks ...

 

Methinks I'll have to get off my butt and get a replacment cable.

 

Cheers'
Dave