Support in other languages: 
Reply
Fanfold Paper
swhitten
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-30-2009
Location: TN
0

Idea Center B520 - how to add second monitor?

[ Edited ]

I want to add a second monitor to my B520, but the only monitors I have connect with a DVI cable.  I don't see a DVI plug anywhere on the B520.  Is there a way?  If not, if I buy a monitor with HDMI connections, can I connect it to my B520 using HDMI?  My B520 is 3D and touch screen.  Thanks in advance.  New to the all-in-one world.

What's DOS?
Lkingston
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-01-2011
Location: Florida
0

Re: Idea Center B520 - how to add second monitor?

I have a second monitor on my B520 added with HDMI. Works great.
Paper Tape
rodalvarez
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Location: New Jersey
0

Re: Idea Center B520 - how to add second monitor?

I too want to add to a second monitor, which has a VGA cable. Do I just connect the B520 computer with an HDMI to VGA cable to be able to the 2nd monitor?
What's DOS?
jennym254
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-25-2012
Location: Texas
0

Re: Idea Center B520 - how to add second monitor?

You have stated you have actually accomplished this with just and HDMI cable. Could you please explain how you did this? I can not get the PC to recognize the second monitor.

Punch Card
timberwolf10014
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎05-01-2012
Location: NYC, NY
0

Re: Idea Center B520 - how to add second monitor?

I have my B520 connected to my 42" Monitor via a HDMI cable

 

Go to Control Panel > Appearance and Personalization > Display > Screen Resolution, and then choose 'Detect'.  (It is my understanding, you need to make the B520 your 'main display', or you can not use Touch on the B520)

 

You will also need to set your Monitor Source to 'HDMI'  (My old PC is still connected to my Monitor via Source 'DVI'.  It allows me to use my old PC, and new B520, on the same Monitor; by just changing the Source)

 

As for connecting the B520 to an external Monitor that does not have HDMI Input ... there are cables, and adaptors, that you buy to convert HDMI to DVI (or whatever).  Once you have the converter, then choose the applicable Source on you Monitor.

 

http://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/24-11052

What's DOS?
Eternal777
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-15-2012
Location: North Carolna
0

Re: Idea Center B520 - how to add second monitor?

Hey timberwolf, my B520 won't detect my monitor. I have a VGA to HDMI Cord. I have it connected to the HDMI out port. Also, how do I change the monitor source?
Token Ring
thorcik
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎07-30-2012
Location: Warsaw, PL
0

Re: Idea Center B520 - how to add second monitor?

Changing the monitor source is availible via the monitor OSD menu, check the manual for details.

As for the display not being detected - can You check on another machine if the cable is OK?
T60/T618895-W4M, UXGA, T9300, 8GB RAM, Vertex3, Intel 6300 Win8.1
R61e 7649-W1Z, T7250, Intel 6300