Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Blue Screen Again
gnrpatience
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-23-2011
Location: Mexico
0
Accepted Solution

Lenovo IdeaCentre k320 sandy bridge recalled ?

Hello,

 

 

I just want to confirm if this desktop got the sandy bridge recall.

 

Im about to buy it on bestbuy but cannot confirm if it got recalled.

 

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Lenovo+-+Ideacentre+Desktop+/+Intel%26%23174%3B+Core%26%23153%3B+i7+Proc...

 

 

Thanks!

andyP
Posts: 9,295
Topics: 161
Kudos: 713
Solutions: 635
Registered: ‎11-27-2007
Location: Bonnie Scotland

Re: Lenovo IdeaCentre k320 sandy bridge recalled ?

[ Edited ]

gnrpatience, welcome to the forum,

 

on the forum home page you will see, on the right side, a banner for the ThinkPad Virtual Agent. I suggest a visit.  (I appreciate that you may not have visited the site because it has ThinkPad in the title).

 

If you select You want to know about the Intel Chipset announcement you will find a list of affected systems, I do not see the K320 in the list and therefore assume it is not an affected system. Yes the K330 is listed.

Andy  

______________________________________


Please remember to come back and mark the post that you feel solved your question as the solution, it earns the member + points

Did you find a post helpfull? You can thank the member by clicking on the star to the left awarding them Kudos

Please add your type, model number and OS to your signature, it helps to help you.

Forum Search Option

T430 2347-G7U W8 x64, Yoga 10 HD+, Tablet 1838-2BG, T61p 6460-67G W7 x64, T43p 2668-G2G XP, T23 2647-9LG XP, plus a few more.

FYI Unsolicited Personal Messages will be ignored.

de.gif  Deutsche Community   es.gif  Comunidad en Español  uk.gif  English Community ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

PepperonI blog 

Blue Screen Again
gnrpatience
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-23-2011
Location: Mexico
0

Re: Lenovo IdeaCentre k320 sandy bridge recalled ?

Hi AndyP,

 

Thanks for answering, yes I already visited that link and found the bulletin

 

"

Possible Lenovo models affected may include the latest generation of IdeaPad laptops and IdeaCentre desktop PCs, including:

  • IdeaPad laptop Y460P, Y560P
  • IdeaCentre desktop K330

"

Since it says "Possible Lenovo models affected may include the latest IdeaCentre desktop PCs inluding ideaCentre K330" I thought that it means all IdeaCentre plus K330 which includes K320.....

 

Thanks!

andyP
Posts: 9,295
Topics: 161
Kudos: 713
Solutions: 635
Registered: ‎11-27-2007
Location: Bonnie Scotland
0

Re: Lenovo IdeaCentre k320 sandy bridge recalled ?

The K320 doesn't have series 6 generation chip set so it can't be affected.  See the psref for Idea Centre Desktops; none of the cpus listed for the system are second generation.

Andy  

______________________________________


Please remember to come back and mark the post that you feel solved your question as the solution, it earns the member + points

Did you find a post helpfull? You can thank the member by clicking on the star to the left awarding them Kudos

Please add your type, model number and OS to your signature, it helps to help you.

Forum Search Option

T430 2347-G7U W8 x64, Yoga 10 HD+, Tablet 1838-2BG, T61p 6460-67G W7 x64, T43p 2668-G2G XP, T23 2647-9LG XP, plus a few more.

FYI Unsolicited Personal Messages will be ignored.

de.gif  Deutsche Community   es.gif  Comunidad en Español  uk.gif  English Community ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

PepperonI blog 

Blue Screen Again
gnrpatience
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-23-2011
Location: Mexico
0

Re: Lenovo IdeaCentre k320 sandy bridge recalled ?

Hi,

I downloaded the icbook for ideacentre desktops and after comparing the K320 with K330 which is listed with the sandy bridge recall i dont see the difference.

How do you know K330 have seres 6 generation chip and K320 doesnt.

THanks
andyP
Posts: 9,295
Topics: 161
Kudos: 713
Solutions: 635
Registered: ‎11-27-2007
Location: Bonnie Scotland

Re: Lenovo IdeaCentre k320 sandy bridge recalled ?

because the cpus in the 320 aren't second generation i3-i7, identified by a 2 at the start of the cpu number.

 

Intel offer this method for you to check your system yourself.

Andy  

______________________________________


Please remember to come back and mark the post that you feel solved your question as the solution, it earns the member + points

Did you find a post helpfull? You can thank the member by clicking on the star to the left awarding them Kudos

Please add your type, model number and OS to your signature, it helps to help you.

Forum Search Option

T430 2347-G7U W8 x64, Yoga 10 HD+, Tablet 1838-2BG, T61p 6460-67G W7 x64, T43p 2668-G2G XP, T23 2647-9LG XP, plus a few more.

FYI Unsolicited Personal Messages will be ignored.

de.gif  Deutsche Community   es.gif  Comunidad en Español  uk.gif  English Community ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

PepperonI blog 

Blue Screen Again
gnrpatience
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-23-2011
Location: Mexico
0

Re: Lenovo IdeaCentre k320 sandy bridge recalled ?

gotcha, Ok so i will buy that one =)

Thanks!