Support in other languages: 
Reply
Punch Card
radracing
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-21-2008
Location: Golden, Colorado

upgrading cpu

Can I upgrade my cpu Intel dual core E2140 to a better one? What do you recomind?
Paper Tape
Thinkster
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-06-2008
Location: US
0

Re: upgrading cpu

You should be able to upgrade the CPU to whatever the maximum speed the motherboard supports (not knowing what motherboard they are using, I can't say for sure).

I would guess you could probably go with a E4600 (2.4GHz) or even E8400 (3GHz).   Check Newegg for prices!

 

Ctrl-Alt-Del
Sharkey
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-15-2008
Location: Pacific North West (US)
0

Re: upgrading cpu


Thinkster wrote:

You should be able to upgrade the CPU to whatever the maximum speed the motherboard supports (not knowing what motherboard they are using, I can't say for sure).

I would guess you could probably go with a E4600 (2.4GHz) or even E8400 (3GHz).   Check Newegg for prices!

 


The next question is where to find the specs for your motherboard.  Lenovo's support site is useless for this.

 

I've yet to find the specs for  the motherboard on my IdeaCentre K210 57076162

Paper Tape
Thinkster
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-06-2008
Location: US
0

Re: upgrading cpu

Download a copy of CPU-Z and see what it reports.  It may identify the Mobo...

Download Here

 

What's DOS?
p0testi0
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-21-2008
Location: Wisconsin
0

Re: upgrading cpu

I was going to post the same thing about my E2140 in my IdeaCentre.  I ran the CPU-Z and here is what I have: (What can I upgrade to?

 

Intel Pentium E2140 1.6Ghz

Conroe

Socket 775 LGA

65nm

Family 6 Model F Stepping D

Ext. Family 6 Ext. Model F Revision M0

 

Motherboard:

Manufacturer: Lenovo

MOdel: Lenovo

Chipset: Intel P35/G33/G31 Rev 10

Southbridge: Intel 82801GB (ICH7/R)

 

Punch Card
radracing
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-21-2008
Location: Golden, Colorado
0

Re: upgrading cpu

I found the motherboard to ecs G31t-m
Retired Guru
ortegaluis
Posts: 1,406
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Location: California, United States
0

Re: upgrading cpu

According to Intel, the G31 chipset supports Core 2 Duo and Core 2 Quad processors with 1333/1066/800 MHz system bus.

 

On a side note, it also supports DDR2 800 memory.


\\ I do not respond to PM regarding individual tech support. Keep discussions in the forum for the benefit of others //
Punch Card
radracing
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-21-2008
Location: Golden, Colorado
0

Re: upgrading cpu

I found a intel e5200 cpu at newegg  installed it and made thing a lot faster and more stable.
Retired Guru
ortegaluis
Posts: 1,406
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Location: California, United States
0

Re: upgrading cpu

Thanks for coming back and posting your results.

\\ I do not respond to PM regarding individual tech support. Keep discussions in the forum for the benefit of others //
Blue Screen Again
velazkid
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-26-2008
Location: Wisconsin
0

Re: upgrading cpu

I just posted a simialar thread and saw this and got some asnwers. Does anybody Know if the K210 Will support core 2 duos or even Quad cores?