Support in other languages: 
Reply
Paper Tape
Wiiconel
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-04-2011
Location: Cardiff, GBR
0

Lenovo S12 not booting (NVIDIA)

I've had my Lenovo S12 (NVIDIA) since January 2011 and since then I have upgraded the RAM from 1GB to 2GB just for the extra boost. Now I needed a bigger hard drive, (Also I set a hdd password and forgot it plus I haven't actually used it in a while being about a month. I've been occupied with other things in my life :smileysad:  ) from 250gb to 500gb I got a WD Scorpio Blue 500gb 2.5inch 5400rpm hdd. I installed it correctly and I went in the BIOS to see if it was detected and I got this error

 

Phoenix SecureCore(tm) NB

Copyright 1985-2007 Phoenix Technologies Ltd.

All Right Reserved

FOR EVALUATION ONLY. DF7M235H.ROM

Build Time: 11/27/09 19:31:51

21CN29WW

CPU = 1 Processors Detected

Intel (R) Atom(TM) CPU N270 @1.60GHz

600K System RAM Passed

2814M Extended RAM Passed

512 KB L2 Cache

System BIOS shadowed

Video BIOS shadowed

Fixed Disk 0: WDC WD5000BEVT-16A0RT0

Mouse initialzed

System Configuration updated

ERROR

System Configuration Read Error

Operating System not found

 

That was it the hdd was detected but nothing more appeared so I restarted the system tried to boot from my USB DVD-ROM drive but the PXE thing came up. I tried the F12 "Multi-Boot Selection" but it just said "Operating System not found" and nothing more. Help Please I need to get this working before I go away to Belgium and France on the 28th of May.

 

Thanks in advance,

Tom Lewis (Wiiconel)

When life gives you lemons, DON'T MAKE LEMONADE, GET MAD! --- Portal 2 lol
Community Moderator
yigit
Posts: 13,226
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Antalya
0

Re: Lenovo S12 not booting (NVIDIA)

possible reasons: no operation system installed on the hard-disc or the mainboard doesn't support 500 gb hdd.


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Paper Tape
Wiiconel
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-04-2011
Location: Cardiff, GBR
0

Re: Lenovo S12 not booting (NVIDIA)

[ Edited ]

the reason why there no os on it is because I put in a brand new hdd and how do I check if it does support a 500gb hdd?

When life gives you lemons, DON'T MAKE LEMONADE, GET MAD! --- Portal 2 lol
Community Moderator
yigit
Posts: 13,226
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Antalya
0

Re: Lenovo S12 not booting (NVIDIA)

[ Edited ]

probably it's supported ( listed in bios )

try to install an operation system first.



http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Paper Tape
Wiiconel
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-04-2011
Location: Cardiff, GBR
0

Re: Lenovo S12 not booting (NVIDIA)

sorry about the long reply, I can't install a os on it because i can't get into the bios and the multi boot selection menu but what has come to mind is to try install ubuntu from my desktop because i tried with a usb key before on my old laptop and it worked.
When life gives you lemons, DON'T MAKE LEMONADE, GET MAD! --- Portal 2 lol
Community Moderator
yigit
Posts: 13,226
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Antalya
0

Re: Lenovo S12 not booting (NVIDIA)

try to install operation system ( windows ) from usb.


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Paper Tape
Wiiconel
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-04-2011
Location: Cardiff, GBR
0

Re: Lenovo S12 not booting (NVIDIA)

I can't change the boot settings anyway i tried installing WinFLP from my desktop and then putting in the hdd in the laptop and still nothing :/

When life gives you lemons, DON'T MAKE LEMONADE, GET MAD! --- Portal 2 lol
Community Moderator
yigit
Posts: 13,226
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Antalya
0

Re: Lenovo S12 not booting (NVIDIA)

[ Edited ]

250 gb hdd working properly?



http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Paper Tape
Wiiconel
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-04-2011
Location: Cardiff, GBR
0

Re: Lenovo S12 not booting (NVIDIA)

Not sure because i've forgotten the password into it (facepalm)

When life gives you lemons, DON'T MAKE LEMONADE, GET MAD! --- Portal 2 lol
Community Moderator
yigit
Posts: 13,226
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Antalya
0

Re: Lenovo S12 not booting (NVIDIA)

at this point, i'm not sure if ti's hardware or software. so, i suggest you to contact lenovo support line.


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com