Support in other languages: 
Reply
Paper Tape
nya2003
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-26-2010
Location: jerzey
0

Re: Windows 7 64-bit and 4gb ram on S10-3T

wow .. when I called Lenovo they said they didnt know if the 1.83 ghz processor  was coming out at all..and so I settled to get the 1.66 and upgrade the ram module myself. Thanks lenovo....ur customer service reps are very knowledgeable. 

Paper Tape
thstart
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-13-2010
Location: US
0

Re: Windows 7 64-bit and 4gb ram on S10-3T

I ran Win7 compatibility check and on hardware 64 bit tab 
I see Win 7 has all 64 bit drivers needed.

Punch Card
PengLord
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎03-01-2010
Location: USA
0

Re: Windows 7 64-bit and 4gb ram on S10-3T

Drivers, yes. Applications, no. the hardware may be recognized but without the correlating applications to communicate with the drivers, certain aspects will not work.

 

I'd be personally surprised if a solution doesn't come out in a few months for full 64-bit support (if it isn't already available as I have not yet heard of somebody attempting to run it yet).

Paper Tape
thstart
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-13-2010
Location: US
0

Re: Windows 7 64-bit and 4gb ram on S10-3T

just installed Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit. The only problem - broadcom lan not recognized - needed to try until found 530x to work.

 

64-bit - a lot faster when using SIMD instructions - 2 times wider registers when 64 bit. I am using them extensively for brand new application to be released soon.

Paper Tape
garrettwp
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-12-2010
Location: PA, USA
0

Re: Windows 7 64-bit and 4gb ram on S10-3T

So you are saying that with Win 7 64bit, you feel that it offers more performance on the s10-3t.

 

- Garrett

Token Ring
tulisan
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎02-23-2010
Location: manila
0

Re: Windows 7 64-bit and 4gb ram on S10-3T

 


thstart wrote:

just installed Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit. The only problem - broadcom lan not recognized - needed to try until found 530x to work.

 

64-bit - a lot faster when using SIMD instructions - 2 times wider registers when 64 bit. I am using them extensively for brand new application to be released soon.


 

were you able to use the lenovo apps too? i.e. energy management software?

 

Fanfold Paper
therizzzo
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-22-2010
Location: TX
0

Win 7 64-bit not recognizing Broadcom

I own a S10-3t netbook.  It came with Windows 7 Starter, which is horrible.  I upgraded to Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit edition a few days ago.  I did a clean install and installation went smoothly.  My problems now are as follows - Broadcomm 94313 WLAN isn't recognized by Windows, brightness control not functioning (Volume works, though), screen flip/rotate button doesn't work. 

 

After searching the forum, I only found one thread even mentioning the Broadcom problem.  User "theStart" mentions "530x" as a fix, but I do not know if this is a driver, model number of another machine or what.  Can anyone help me with any of  these problems?  Or explain the 530x thing?

 

Thanks,

Fanfold Paper
therizzzo
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-22-2010
Location: TX
0

Re: Windows 7 64-bit and 4gb ram on S10-3T

What is this 530x you speak of?

KalvinKlein
Posts: 2,325
Registered: ‎01-21-2009
Location: Germany Hannover
0

Re: Win 7 64-bit not recognizing Broadcom

Hi try these  Energymanagement Windows 7 64bit  Broadcom WLAN Windows 7 64 ...

 

sincerely KalvinKlein

______________________________________
Thinkpad 2x X200s L9600/9400 AFFS 8GB 3G SSD Win7 64bit
Thinkpad X301 8GB 3G SSD Win7 64Bit Ft. Speakerbezel Metal Mod
Fanfold Paper
therizzzo
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-22-2010
Location: TX
0

Re: Win 7 64-bit not recognizing Broadcom

 


KalvinKlein wrote:

Hi try these  Energymanagement Windows 7 64bit  Broadcom WLAN Windows 7 64 ...

 

sincerely KalvinKlein

 


I tried both of these.  The Broadcom driver did not fix the problem.  The Energy Management software did seem to install correctly.  The software will not adjust the brightness.  The keyboard controls do make the indicator show on screen, but will not adjust brightness up or down.  Any other ideas?
The device manager also is showing a Video Controller that does not have any driver installed.  Could this be related to the brightness control?