Support in other languages: 
Reply
Blue Screen Again
TimmyTurner
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-11-2011
Location: Iran
0
Accepted Solution

s10-3 Blank Screen - Unkown reason

[ Edited ]

I have a S10-3. On http://www.s10lenovo.com/ forums I found that If I remove the thermal pad and use thermal paste instead, It can decrease the temperature. So I did that many times to test different kinds of thermal pastes. Disassembling and assembling was successful every time. I knew what I was doing. But this time, after disassembling and assembling, it didn't boot properly. Blank screen. No lenovo logo, No beep. Power status and battery status LEDs light up and HDD LED lights up for a moment and then it parks its head. Wireless LED blinks once at start. Cooling Fan stops after a short moment. CPU works OK because I can turn it of by pressing power button 3 Secs, Last time I disassembled that, I also removed the RAM to see if thermal paste fits under heat-sink. Is my RAM dead because of unsafe touch or it may has another reason? (Whatever I read in Internet that was similar to my issue, was because of upgrading RAM with an incompatible one. Before I tried a 4 GB RAM and I'd gotten same results like what I have gotten this time. [If sentences are a little strange, that is because I'm not English :smileywink: ]

 

subject edited 

Community Moderator
yigit
Posts: 13,228
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Antalya
0

Re: Blank Screen - Unkown reason

[ Edited ]

hdd lights blink?
could be anything due to you disassemble your computer but possible ram or graphic card issue.



http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Blue Screen Again
TimmyTurner
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-11-2011
Location: Iran
0

Re: Blank Screen - Unkown reason

The HDD light turns on for a few seconds. If this problem is GPU problem, whether it is possible to replace/fix that or not?
Community Moderator
yigit
Posts: 13,228
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Antalya
0

Re: Blank Screen - Unkown reason

due to it's on-board graphic card, mainboard replacement will fix your issue if it's gpu.

have you tried to remove the ram stick then boot?


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Blue Screen Again
TimmyTurner
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-11-2011
Location: Iran
0

Re: Blank Screen - Unkown reason

Yes. It had same results as inserting a 4 GB RAM. But I'll try another RAM tomorrow. I hope it be RAM. I can't change the mainboard. No Lenovo support in Iran, No Replacement.

 

GPU and CPU seem are not soldered. It seems they are sticked using thermal glue. Anyway I didn't do anything except pasting thermal paste on GPU and CPU. The only part could be damaged was RAM, because of unsafe touching and static electricity. Let's see what's what's the cause of it by replacing the RAM.

Community Moderator
yigit
Posts: 13,228
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Antalya
0

Re: Blank Screen - Unkown reason

s10-3 doesn't support 4 gb ram.


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Blue Screen Again
TimmyTurner
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-11-2011
Location: Iran
0

Re: Blank Screen - Unkown reason

Yes, I know that and I said it gave same results as is giving now.
Community Moderator
yigit
Posts: 13,228
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Antalya
0

Re: Blank Screen - Unkown reason

did you hear any beep noise when you removed the ram stick?


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Blue Screen Again
TimmyTurner
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-11-2011
Location: Iran
0

Re: Blank Screen - Unkown reason

No beep. But it's ok now :smileyvery-happy: It is amazing! TNX God. I'll tell you what happened here. Before I had tested a 2 GB elixir RAM on S10-3 successfully. So I went to do this again. But before it, I went to test a 2 GB Samsung RAM. But it had same results as last night or without RAM module. Anyway, I went to the store and asked for a 2 GB elixir RAM. He took the netbook and inserted the RAM and gave it back to me to test it.It was wonderful, WOW ... it had been turned on! screen was black and noisy. It a little bit scared me, So I turned it off and then again turned it on. That was OK ! :smileyvery-happy: I asked about its price and it was 28 Toman( as we say here, probably 26 $ as you say there, but I don't know how much it costs there). As I didn't brought money, I didn't buy that, so he inserted old RAM module into it. On the way I said to my self let give it a chance again. So I turned it on and that was OK (it's really amazing, I don't know what happened. I just was shocked) I really don't know what was it. Tnx God, really really. He brought back my baby
Community Moderator
yigit
Posts: 13,228
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Antalya
0

Re: Blank Screen - Unkown reason

possible speed of ram.


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com