Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Token Ring
rstoegbauer

Re: Help! No wireless connection PROBLEM SOLVED

[ Edited ]

Ive spent years in desktop support, but im kinda new to wireless security encryption.  I always knew WPA and WPA2 were the newer security encryptions, but i didnt know WEP was horribly vulnerable.  I personally set up wpa2 w/ a 21 character encryption a few months from WPA after reading it will take 2 years w/ standard computing power to break the encryption, that sounded good enough for me.  Ive just read up on some old reports where scientists have broke WEP in 60 seconds.  My y430 doesnt have an option to use WEP, seemed like its being phased out.  Although my wireless router which is less than a year old still has the WEP option to setup which seems because of older devices where WEP is the their only option.  I found this info rather useful considering the topics and probs which may be seen w/ newer vs older devices.

Security set ups basically need to match.

WEP to connect to WEP,

WPA to WPA,

WPA2 to WPA2.

though im not an expert in wireless security, im rather sure WPA2-PSK with AES is the best way to go, but much older devices will not have this option. **warning my router is set up as WPA2 Personal  (PSK is not option) yet my buddies connection w/ his laptop to it is set up as WPA2-PSK and thats the only way is connects. Just fool around with similar combo's till u connect and there u go!

I know what some of this stuff means but not much, i just know some of the trends.  You dont need to know much to set anything up, just the security standard you set has to be used on each device.  Setting up a router or connecting to a network you'll have an interface or wizard to use, just make sure they match! :smileyhappy: Every router manufacturer will have the manual on their support website for assistance configuring anything, all u need is ur model and version #.