Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
What's DOS?
normdup
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-09-2012
Location: Canada
0

Re: Lenovo Y550 problem with WiFi and 8GB of Ram

I have same problem.. installed 8 gigs gskill.. wifi not working..  installed one slot 2 gigs other slot 4 gigs.. and wifi working.. frustrating..  

I have chipset GM45  GM47

 

Any solution found yet?  I am not a techi person unfortunately

 

 

 

Paper Tape
alan21615
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
Location: United States
0

Re: Lenovo Y550 problem with WiFi and 8GB of Ram

running pm45 chipset here, got 8 gigs of kingston ram KVR1066D3SOK2/8GR on the way (along with a 256GB SSD :-D)

 

anyone else using the 5150 wifi/wimax card? kind of hoping maybe the upgraded card will resolve the issue?

 

Regardless, I will post again after ram arrives to let you know how it goes.

Paper Tape
alan21615
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
Location: United States
0

Re: Lenovo Y550 problem with WiFi and 8GB of Ram

Got my 8 gigs of Ram (finally) and plugged it into my laptop, and...

 

everything worked - but it was SLOW. Slower than with the 3 gigs of Ram I had before. So, I unplugged the new Ram, put the old back in, updated the BIOS to the newest version, put the new Ram back in, and...

 

Presto! It works beautifully! Everything is much snappier now - not as snappy as I hope it will be with my new SSD (which was DOA :-( but a new one is on it's way now) but definitely an upgrade over the 3gbs of Ram. So, my thoughts are, if you have the updated WiFi card with WiMax, you will probably be fine with the Ram upgrade. No idea why, but there you go.

Fanfold Paper
shakal
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-01-2011
Location: Poland
0

Re: Lenovo Y550 problem with WiFi and 8GB of Ram

[ Edited ]

Hi again!

I bought kingston 2x KTL-TP1066/4G (dedicated for lenovo) and everything is working fine, wi-fi works, no issues :smileyvery-happy: look here for cpu-z and HWiNFO64: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/13912757/1.png

But I thought, that my RAM stats in windows will be bigger... I have only 6,0 :/ : http://dl.dropbox.com/u/13912757/2.png 

 

My drivers:

Chipset: 9.2.0.1025

Wi-Fi Link 5100: 14.3.1.1

Bios: 35 (V2.08)

 

So 2x KTL-TP1066/4G (8GB) works fine with y550 (PM45 chipset) :smileywink:

Paper Tape
relyt
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-28-2009
Location: EU
0

Re: Lenovo Y550 problem with WiFi and 8GB of Ram

[ Edited ]

If someone still interested 2x(Kingston KTL-TP3B/4G) - no problem with wifi. it's 1333 memory but those chips are marked as compatible with Y550 on Kingston site along with KTL-TP1066/4G.

What's DOS?
david73fp
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-06-2013
Location: Austin
0

Re: Lenovo Y550 problem with WiFi and 8GB of Ram

Did this issue ever get resolved?  I just got my 8 gb of Crucial memory today, installed it, and the wifi would not work.  I have the 2.08 bias, latest Intel wifi driver, Win 7 64-bit Home Premium.  It works with 6 gb of memory (although it reports 5.99 gb), but will not work with the full 8gb.  Wifi driver shows Code 10.  I tried back dating the wifi driver to the last one listed on the Lenovo page.  I have not upgraded the chipset driver because the Lenovo driver for 64 bit says it is for Vista, not Win 7.  The Crucial memory I got is 1333.

What's DOS?
david73fp
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-06-2013
Location: Austin
0

Re: Lenovo Y550 problem with WiFi and 8GB of Ram--Update

I returned the Crucial memory and ordered 8gb of Kingston memory, KTL-TP3B/4G.  It is marked as equivalent to Lenovo P/N 55Y3717.  It was immediately recognized as 8gb of memory and there are no wireless issues this time.

Blue Screen Again
Jmesch04
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-13-2011
Location: Usa
0

Re: Lenovo Y550 problem with WiFi and 8GB of Ram

This issue still seems to be a problem.  I have installed 8gb of Gskill ram and all I get is a code 10 for my wireless adapter.

 

Is there any way to fix this?  Why does it seem to only effect some people?

XBrav
Posts: 532
Topics: 16
Kudos: 82
Blog Posts: 0
Solutions: 37
Registered: ‎07-13-2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta
0

Re: Lenovo Y550 problem with WiFi and 8GB of Ram

It's hard to tell what the source issue is. I have even tried different wireless cards, modified BIOS, etc and it works fine for me.

 

Only thing I haven't tried is Vista instead of Windows 7 or 8.

←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗
Tap that kudos button if I helped ^^
←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗←↑→↓↘↙↖↗
Paper Tape
travnick
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-21-2013
Location: Poland
0

Re: Lenovo Y550 problem with WiFi and 8GB of Ram

The same issue here, G45/G47, 8 GB ram (GoodRam) GR1066S364L7/4G, and wifi not working on windows 7 64-bit. Wifi drivers 12.x.x Fortunatelly I'm not using windows every day. My main operating system is linux ... bazinga, wifi works flawesly, everything works!! I was really surprised while running windows the first time with 8 GB ram. "It was running a while ago on linux what broke down?" (ArchLinux x86_64, up to date, kernel 3.x) Thare is one small issue: system is claiming that there is 7989 MB instead of 8192 MB. In my opinion one issue is in intel wifi drivers for windows or in windows itself (mayby somewhere in memory mapping or such thing) and the second one in bios or in motherboard hardware.