Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
What's DOS?
krishnaiahg
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-16-2011
Location: california
0

No Audio via HDMI on U400

Hi,

I got my new U400  a week ago. Today I tried to connect the laptop to my TV using HDMI.

 

but the audio does not play on the TV, I looked in few forums, which suggests that I need to switch the audio to Hi Definition Audio Controller, from the Control Panel->Sound->Playback.

 

I only see one audio playback device listed there (Conexant Smart Audio HD) which is my laptop speakers. I right tclicked on empty are and selected both disabled and disconnected devices, but no HDMI audio controller is listed.

 

Any help on this issue is appreciated.

 

Thanks.

 

Community Moderator
yigit
Posts: 13,337
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Antalya
0

Re: No Audio via HDMI on U400

[ Edited ]

according to the threads below, updating drivers fixes your issue. click support drivers&downloads banner on top, select u400 and re-install/update drivers.

 

http://forum.lenovo.com/t5/IdeaPad-Y-and-U-series-Laptops/Y560-HDMI-cable-has-no-audio-output/ta-p/3...

http://forum.lenovo.com/t5/IdeaPad-Y-and-U-series-Laptops/Y460p-Y560p-No-audio-output-from-built-in-...



http://www.ki-themes.com
What's DOS?
krishnaiahg
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-16-2011
Location: california
0

Re: No Audio via HDMI on U400

I checked and all my drivers are up to date. 

I am not sure if I have any other alternatives?

Community Moderator
yigit
Posts: 13,337
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Antalya
0

Re: No Audio via HDMI on U400

did you connect the cable when your computer and tv is off?


http://www.ki-themes.com
What's DOS?
krishnaiahg
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-16-2011
Location: california
0

Re: No Audio via HDMI on U400

tried all combinations but does not seem to help. the HDMI playback is never listed in the playback devices. I am confused, will it always be listed there or only displayed when the TV is connected to laptop.
Community Moderator
yigit
Posts: 13,337
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Antalya
0

Re: No Audio via HDMI on U400

tried to upgrade tv's firmware?
( what brand of tv do you have? )


http://www.ki-themes.com
What's DOS?
krishnaiahg
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-16-2011
Location: california
0

Re: No Audio via HDMI on U400

I have tried but all the drivers are up to date. I have LG Lcd tv 720p relatively old, but it works well with all other internet capable devices. I am not sure what causes the digital hdmi display as one of the playback devices and Why its not listing in my laptop?
What's DOS?
krishnaiahg
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-16-2011
Location: california
0

Re: No Audio via HDMI on U400

Upgrade tv's firmware? Would that matter?
Community Moderator
yigit
Posts: 13,337
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Antalya
0

Re: No Audio via HDMI on U400

yes, that may help you to solve your issue.


http://www.ki-themes.com
Fanfold Paper
Matess77
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Location: Czech Republic
0

Re: No Audio via HDMI on U400

[ Edited ]

Did you found a decision? I have the same problem with U400.

If I plugin HDMI to my TV Samsung Plasma PS50C450 I have not the sound. I was traied many types of settings and when to connetion, but the sound is only sometimes, when I connect other HDMI port on TV them before. But after disconect it is again lost.