Support in other languages: 
Paper Tape
88fingerslukee

P500 Windows 7 Downgrade

Hey Everybody,

Please excuse me if my questions have been asked before but I sure as heck can't seem to find them.  I'm trying to downgrade a colleague's brand new Lenovo P500-59347559 laptop to Windows 7.  I do this all the time but this is my first time dealing with:

a) a Windows 8 machine

b) UEFI 

I'm not particularly interested in screwing anything up but I'd like to get rid of the Lenovo bloatware and ridiculous partitioning scheme. I'd like somebody to please explain to me what these all are so I know if I can safely wipe them or not. This drive has seven (7!!!!) partitions.  They are as follows:

1.) WINRE_DRV 1000MB OEM

2.) SYSTEM_DRV 260MB System 

3.) LRS_ESP 1000MB OEM

4.) (blank) 128MB MSR

5.) Windows8_OS 884.2GB Primary

6.) LENOVO 25GB Primary

7.) PBR_DRV 20GB OEM

Now I can figure out what 5 and 6 are and 2 looks a lot like the System partition that Win7 creates when you first install it on a blank unpartitioned drive.  Can somebody please tell me what the others are?

thanks so much!

RMattoo
Topics: 3
Kudos: 94
Solutions: 91

Re: P500 Windows 7 Downgrade

Hi

Welcome To Lenovo Community

Please follow the below steps

How to install Microsoft Windows 7 on the Windows 8-based computer:

1. Turn on the computer to start Windows 8.
  2. Hold down the Windows logo key and press C to open the Charm bar on   the screen.
  3. Select Settings, then Power from the menu.
  4. Select Reboot to restart the computer.
  5. While the "To interrupt normal startup, press Enter" message is displayed at the lower-left area or

lower-center of the screen, press the F1 key.  The ThinkPad Setup menu will be displayed.  If a   

password prompt appears, type the correct password.

1. Select Restart, then make sure the operating system Optimized Defaults option is set to Disabled.
  2. Press the F9 key to load default configuration.
  3. Select Yes.