Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Blue Screen Again
jplfly
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-14-2012
Location: Culebra Puerto Rico
0
Accepted Solution

Partitions, et al

I have attempted to read most of the postings regarding One Key recovery and partitions.  I am an old guy who knows how to get around the keyboard pretty well, but whose eyes glaze over when the technical jargon is the primary means of communication.  So I think I had better post my question and hope for some really understanding techie who can reply in fairly basic language.  So here goes.

 

I purchased a Lenovo V570 in February, 2012.  I had my desktop cloned to the new laptop so I would not have to re-load everything.  I got my computer back from the tech and then immediately (2 hours later) left the country for 2 months.  I did not have a chance to test everything before I left and found out in the airport my wireless was now inoperative!

 

So I worked with Lenovo on line (via lan cable) for over 25 hours total to get it running.  But they told me when I returned to the States to send it back to the factory.

 

So when I returned I backed up the hard drive to a external backup drive and sent it back to Lenovo.  I got it back the same day I left for an indeterminate stay on a small island just off Puerto Rico.  So I have zero chance of getting technical support on my question here.

 

Lenovo reset everything back to factory fresh and here is my problem.

 

I am scared to death to restore the backup to the machine.  I am afraid it will do exactly the same thing that happened before. So:

 

1)  Can I set up a new partiction to boot to that will not affect my factory fresh setting:

 

and if that is possible

 

2)  How difficult is it to swap files back and forth from the new partition to the partition with the new factory fresh settings (i.e.  I have lots of purchased programs that I do not want to have to purchase again on the back up)?;

 

or

 

3) is there an easier, shinier, simpler, faster, more reasonble way to accomplish my goal?

 

Thanks for your help,

Jerry

 

Retired Guru
Duck3
Posts: 2,090
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
Location: USA
0

Re: Partitions, et al

[ Edited ]

You write:
"I had my desktop cloned to the new laptop so I would not have to re-load everything. "

That is just wrong, sorry. Different machines, things will not work
the same.

 

If you restore the backup, you may have a mess on your hands again.

Blue Screen Again
jplfly
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-14-2012
Location: Culebra Puerto Rico
0

Re: Partitions, et al

Dang!  That is interesting.  The tech guy did not say anything about there being any problem moving stuff from the desktop to the laptop.  Maybe I am using the wrong terminology. 

 

Instead of clone (I told him I wanted my laptop to look and act just like the desktop with all the programs and data ready to go) maybe he just did a copy or some other term.

 

Could that be?

 

The laptop looked and acted exactly as the desktop - except the wireless was inoperative.

 

Thanks for your input.

 

Jerry

Retired Guru
Duck3
Posts: 2,090
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
Location: USA
0

Re: Partitions, et al

[ Edited ]

Sorry, of course the tech may have done something different,
I saw "clone", and thought the worst!

But you ask if you can set up a partition to boot the backup from?
Is that right? And will it affect the new install?

What method did you use to back it up before sending it in?

 

But my initial answer to your questions is:

1. No. Any partition changes will affect your new install in some way.

And what you are talking about, I think, is Dual Booting the old and new.

Very doubtful, and problematic, I think.

2. I doubt the programs will work without being reinstalled on the new setup.

 

Would have been nice if you had Cloned it to another hard drive,
then you could just put the other hard drive in, or in a external enclosure.

 

Anyhow, what you are thinking of attempting sounds difficult at best,

and disastrous at worst!

Someone else may have some ideas after you supply more info,

like back up method.

Blue Screen Again
jplfly
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-14-2012
Location: Culebra Puerto Rico
0

Re: Partitions, et al

Thanks a bunch!

 

That pretty well answers my question - in other words dual booting could be more of a problem than a solution. 

 

Oh well.  Re-install the programs it is.

 

Thanks for your time and thoughts.

 

Jerry

Retired Guru
Duck3
Posts: 2,090
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
Location: USA
0

Re: Partitions, et al

Sorry there was no Quick Fix.

Hope it works out for you!
Blue Screen Again
jplfly
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-14-2012
Location: Culebra Puerto Rico
0

Re: Partitions, et al

Thanks.