Support in other languages: 
Reply
Fanfold Paper
rmaruri
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-26-2010
Location: Chennai
0

Lenovo 3000 N100 0768 memory

Hi, 

 

I have Lenovo 3000 N100 0768.

processor - T2060 @ 1.6GHZ

Memory - 0.99GB

 

I am using vista. so it is very slow. I am planning to upgrade memory to 3 GB as I am using 32 bit operating system.

 

does my laptop supports upgrade to 3GB?

 

I have seen PC2-6400 or PC2-5300 series. which one my laptop supports?

 

Please advise. appreciate your help.

Retired Guru
Duck3
Posts: 2,081
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
Location: USA
0

Re: Lenovo 3000 N100 0768 memory

[ Edited ]

does my laptop supports upgrade to 3GB? YES
PC2-5300

 

EDIT: Worked for me with a N100 0768

Fanfold Paper
rmaruri
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-26-2010
Location: Chennai
0

Re: Lenovo 3000 N100 0768 memory

Hi, 

I have placed 1GB RAM in one slot and 2GB RAM in other slot. It is PC2-5300. But the system doesn't detect 2GB. 

 

Is there any way which slot is detecting and which not? any tools to debug and find the root cause.

 

I ran CPU-Z tool. here are the details.

 

Memory 

Type = DDR2

Channel =Single

Size = 2048 MBytes

 

SPD

Memory slot selection shows only slot #1. Doesn't show second slot. 

module size - 2048MBytes

Maxi band width - PC2 6400 ( 400 MHz)

 

Please advise. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Retired Guru
Duck3
Posts: 2,081
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
Location: USA
0

Re: Lenovo 3000 N100 0768 memory

[ Edited ]

Switch the memory in the slots.

Then enter bios setup on boot, (press F1 key at Lenovo screen)

and Set to Default, Save and Exit.

 

Re-enter bios and restore any options you had set before.

(boot order etc.)

Fanfold Paper
rmaruri
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-26-2010
Location: Chennai
0

Re: Lenovo 3000 N100 0768 memory

I have set BIOS to default. But it is still not recognized.

 

Here is CPU-Z statistics

 

Memory

 

Type DDR2

Size 2048 MB

Channel = Single

 

SPD

 

shows only one slot. second slot is not showing

 

Module size 2048 MB

 

I have placed 2GB in one slot, 1GB in another. But it shows only 1GB

 

I have tried many times by setting the BIOS to default value.

 

Please advise.

 

 

 

 

 

Community Moderator
yigit
Posts: 13,231
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Antalya
0

Re: Lenovo 3000 N100 0768 memory

let me clear, when you insert (only) 2 gb of ram (into first slot), system recognizes it but as 1 gb, right?


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Fanfold Paper
rmaruri
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-26-2010
Location: Chennai
0

Re: Lenovo 3000 N100 0768 memory

Previously,

 

I have two slots. one is with 1GB and other it with 1GB. But the systems shows only 1GB. I have thought that one of the RAM might be defective.

 

Current,

 

first slot 2GB and second slot 1GB. But the system shows 1GB.

 

Not sure whether one of the slots is working or not?

 

Is there anyway to find which slot is defective? anyways to fix it?

 

Please advise.

 

 

Community Moderator
yigit
Posts: 13,231
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Antalya
0

Re: Lenovo 3000 N100 0768 memory

press windows + r, type "dxdiag" > enter, then check if how much memory installed on your system. please, post back the results.


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Retired Guru
Duck3
Posts: 2,081
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
Location: USA
0

Re: Lenovo 3000 N100 0768 memory

Sounds like a defective slot.
Using just one ram module, find out which
one is bad. If one IS bad, no way to repair,
but check for dust, debris, etc.
Fanfold Paper
rmaruri
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-26-2010
Location: Chennai
0

Re: Lenovo 3000 N100 0768 memory

 

The Report is big. I have pasted some information. Let me know if you need further information. Please advise. 
   Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6002) Service Pack 2 (6002.vistasp2_ldr.101217-0236)
           Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: LENOVO
       System Model: 0768A52
               BIOS: Ver 1.00PARTTBL
          Processor: Genuine Intel(R) CPU           T2060  @ 1.60GHz (2 CPUs), ~1.6GHz
             Memory: 1014MB RAM
          Page File: 1594MB used, 967MB available
        Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
     DxDiag Version: 7.00.6002.18107 32bit Unicode
------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
      Display Tab 1: No problems found.
        Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
          Input Tab: No problems found.
--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D:    0/4 (retail)
DirectDraw:  0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (retail)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (retail)
DirectPlay:  0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow:  0/6 (retail)
---------------
Display Devices
---------------
        Card name: Mobile Intel(R) 945 Express Chipset Family
     Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
        Chip type: Intel(R) GMA 950
         DAC type: Internal
       Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27A2&SUBSYS_206217AA&REV_03
   Display Memory: 251 MB
 Dedicated Memory: 0 MB
    Shared Memory: 251 MB
     Current Mode: 1280 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
          Monitor: Generic PnP Monitor
      Driver Name: igdumd32.dll
   Driver Version: 7.14.0010.1587 (English)
      DDI Version: 9Ex
   BGRA Supported: Yes
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
 Driver Date/Size: 10/22/2008 21:18:36, 3309568 bytes
      WHQL Logo'd: Yes
  WHQL Date Stamp: 
Device Identifier: {D7B78E66-64E2-11CF-2972-6800A2C2CA35}
        Vendor ID: 0x8086
        Device ID: 0x27A2
        SubSys ID: 0x206217AA
      Revision ID: 0x0003
      Revision ID: 0x0003
      Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C 
VideoProcess_StretchY VideoProcess_AlphaBlend DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch 
     DDraw Status: Enabled
       D3D Status: Enabled
       AGP Status: Enabled