Support in other languages: 
Reply
Paper Tape
snayak
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-23-2012
Location: india
0
Accepted Solution

4GB RAM not visible to OS

Dear All,

 

I purchased a Lenovo G570 (Model Name: 20079).

It has Core i3 2350M and 4GB RAM.

 

I installed windows xp(32-bit).

When I checked the task manager/properties of my computer; it shows only 3GB of RAM.

Also I installed puppy linux(32-bit), and checked top; it shows 3GB of total memory.

 

What shall I do, so that 4GB will be visible to OS?

 

Sincerely,

Srinivas Nayak

Community Moderator
yigit
Posts: 13,250
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Antalya
0

Re: 4GB RAM not visible to OS

hi snayak

i'm not sure about linux but windows xp doesn't support 4 gb ram at maximum. you can install it but the system will only use 3 gb of. you will need to install at least 64 bit operation system.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/hardware/gg487508

hope this helps.


http://www.ki-themes.com
Retired Guru
Duck3
Posts: 2,081
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
Location: USA
0

Re: 4GB RAM not visible to OS

Same in Linux.
32 bit = 3GB
Paper Tape
jack100
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-29-2012
Location: assam
0

Re: 4GB RAM not visible to OS windows 7 32bit

i hav lenovo g570 20079 having i3 2330m n 4gb ram....bt it is using only 3bg ram....1gb ram of ati radeon graphics card is not in use...plzz hlpp how to use all 4gb ram

Fanfold Paper
ahmedelsabbagh
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Location: Egypt
0

Re: 4GB RAM not visible to OS

Use Operating system with 64Bit not 32Bit .