Support in other languages: 
Punch Card
ldn323

G550 power connector - is this a weak point?

Hello,

I have been using my new G550 for a week. It is an excellent machine for the price range.  The only thing I am not 100% happy with is the AC jack (i.e. where the AC adapter is plugged into the motherboard). I feel that it is rather flimsy and could break off the motherboard easily enough. I have been using Thinkpad for many, many years and have never seen one with such a weak connector.

Has anyone actually run into problems with the AC jack?

Thanks.

JHP
Punch Card
JHP

Re: G550 power connector - is this a weak point?

That is something I also noticed when I had my G550.  The connection doesn't seem anywhere near as robust as on my old Thinkpad.  Perhaps it's best to leave it plugged in at the laptop connection and unplug at the AC adapter end?

Ctrl-Alt-Del
mahdi86

Hi,

I got the same problem. Is there actuallz anyone whos connector broke? Or did you just expect it to break but it didnt?

I realized that its pretty loose and that it doesnt seem stable built at all.

Will I need to send the laptop for fixing? Or will it just be allright if I dont touch it? I spent a lot of money for this laptop. That is really very much, and I am not willing to buy any other lenovo laptops if this is what I get for 500 dollars..

Mahdi

HDMI
tresho

I have had no problems with the power jack on my Lenovo 3000 N200.  It is not connected directly to the motherboard, but is mounted on a pigtail cable, which serves as strain relief and helps prevent breakage at that point.  I don't know how your  model's power jack works.   The problem is not so much in the power jack being loose as in it ultimately failing to connect your AC power source to the battery, then the battery can't be recharged, and then finally the laptop can't work.  If the power jack is hanging on a cable rather than being soldered direct to the motherboard, being loose is not as big a problem.