Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Punch Card
kenleigh
Accepted Solution

hard drive warning

I have a C200 series all in one that has windows7 home premium, it is just three years old and iwas thinking of upgrading but did a full diagnostic with the toolbox to make sure all was ok.

i was devasted to see that my pc passed all but three of the tests they were as followed...target read test ...failed

smart short test....failed and surface scan test... failed

I was told to back up my computer as my hard drive was about to fail.

This was the first computer i ever had so i am no expert, so can any one tell me was it somthing i may have done to cause this or is the hard drive failure normal after three years?

I also did a disc check of all files and they werel fine, so now i look to the community for any help and advice on the matter doi throw it out and put it down to a bad experience or can it be saving .

Kenleigh.

topmahof
Topics: 35
Kudos: 366
Solutions: 238

Re: hard drive warning

Hi kenleigh and welcome to the community,

Hard drives fail.  They might fail in a month, they might last years. It isn't failing because of anything you did or didn't do.

Did you burn recovery discs?  If you didn't, now would be a good time to do so, because you are going to have to restore the system onto a new hard drive.  It would also be nice if you were able to do a full backup onto an external hard drive.

Your hard drive is going to fail.  Once it starts showing errors, it's only a matter of time.  Usually, not much time.

Dave

If someone helped you today, pay it forward. Help Someone Else!
English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество
Punch Card
kenleigh

Hi Dave,

thank you for your advice,