Support in other languages: 
Paper Tape
afield

New to Linux, Do you suggest?

Hello Lenovians,

I am in the process of purchasing a new Lenovo, and I do not like vista.  I am new to Linux, and I am thinking about trying out the Redhat(??) or Sled 10 versions which is available with the thinkpad i am looking at. I do mostly online applications via mozilla and very little programs besides word and excel.(That I can think of).   I am looking at the T61 14.1" T9300 2.5Ghz,  2GB(1DIMM), 100GB mem 7200rpm.   I do want the 802.11n wireless and also I have a verizon pccard.  Will either version handle the software for my verizon, or is there a way to get around that?

I am very interested in trying that release of Linux, but I have never used it before.  Is there anything I should know before trying?

Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated. 

ajkula66
Kudos: 696
Solutions: 733

Re: New to Linux, Do you suggest?

Welcome to the forum!

You can always run XP if you don't like Vista, that's what a lot of people (myself included) still do.

The only thing which may not work with Linux is your Verizon card. I'd Google around a lot regarding that issue before jumping into the Linux pool.

If you're not familiar with Linux, I'd suggest ordering a machine with XP and doing a dual-boot...many good free Linux distros are around, for just about any taste. And you always have XP as a backup while testing different distros.

Hope this helps. 

Cheers,

George

In daily use: T43pSF, R60F, T410, W510

Backups: T60, T61p, R500F

For sale: T60 (15" SXGA+ IPS), T61p (14" SXGA+ & 15.4" WUXGA),

Rebuilding: A31p, T42p, X24

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W

I build FrankenPads....scary FrankenPads...

S = SATA-mod (on T43/p units only)
F = FrankenPad
L = LED-mod utilizing an UXGA AFFS LED screen