Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Ctrl-Alt-Del
MinhP
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-15-2009
Location: London
0

Re: Can my R61e lappy run with 4gb ram (2gb+2gb)?

I installed them to the laptop. The Windows XP shows 2.99gb of 4gb RAM; no problems at all. Cheers.

Retired Guru
fmyhr
Posts: 993
Registered: ‎03-10-2009
Location: Michigan

Re: Can my R61e lappy run with 4gb ram (2gb+2gb)?

Glad to hear it worked out for you, MinhP. Enjoy your expanded memory! :smileyhappy:
---------

Results of Your Ideal Business-Class Laptop survey, concluded 2009-07-29.

Did someone help you?
Say thanks! with a kudo.
Even better: Pay it forward, help someone else. :smileyhappy:
Ctrl-Alt-Del
MinhP
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-15-2009
Location: London
0

Re: Can my R61e lappy run with 4gb ram (2gb+2gb)?

"Thank you" Frank.

 

Update: Now I am using 1 new 2gb Kingston + 1 old 512mb on my laptop. The other 2gb for my friend's laptop. So, each laptop has 2.49gb of ram. Yay!

Retired Guru
fmyhr
Posts: 993
Registered: ‎03-10-2009
Location: Michigan
0

Re: Can my R61e lappy run with 4gb ram (2gb+2gb)?

That's great, MinhP! Both you and your friend get upgraded memory. Efficient use of resources always makes this engineer happy. :smileyhappy:
---------

Results of Your Ideal Business-Class Laptop survey, concluded 2009-07-29.

Did someone help you?
Say thanks! with a kudo.
Even better: Pay it forward, help someone else. :smileyhappy:
What's DOS?
landor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-17-2014
Location: US
0

Re: Can my R61e lappy run with 4gb ram (2gb+2gb)?

[ Edited ]

I know this is a really old thread but maybe this helps someone:

 

My R61E is able to use 8GB of ram. I also upgraded the cpu to a Core2 Duo T9300 2.50GHz.
It's a 64 bit cpu which is required (also a 64 bit OS) to address the 8GB ram.

Coming from the Celeron slowness it's a HUGE difference.

If I remember right the X9000 was the fastest that should have worked but there was a large cost difference.

You gotta make sure you get the same socket type, FSB, etc.