Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Serial Port
michaelmartin
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Location: South Africa
0
Accepted Solution

Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

Hi guys,

 

I've been having issues on my r61e running Cubase 5 (creates audio glitches & the like) - it seems that if I turn off multi-processing within Cubase this helps & it has been suggested that I should do the same in the BIOS. My question is - will this impact negatively on my system in any way? If I turn off multi-processing in the BIOS will I lose power so to speak? I'm not really sure of the details..... Many thanks for your help.

 

Michael.

lead_org
Posts: 20,895
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,249
Solutions: 1,341
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

it would switch off one of the core on the CPU, it does slow down the laptop. 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
buddinggeek
Posts: 2,852
Topics: 105
Kudos: 140
Blog Posts: 0
Solutions: 118
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Location: Texas A&M University, Commerce
0

Re: Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

[ Edited ]

If you want to run the said application only on a single core without disabling it in the BIOS try this method

 

In the task manager go to the cubicle process-->right click-->set affinity.

 

You will see something like this .

 

105i08BDEF33AD8564E4

 

Deselect anyone of the processing core.

 

Does that help?






Cheers and regards,
• » νιנαソѕαяα∂нι ѕαмανє∂αм ™ « •
Think : T410,X220T,Thinkpad Yoga
Idea :3000H,Z500,U410,Yoga 11, Yoga tab 10,Horizon
●๋•کáŕádhí'ک díáŕý ツ


I am a volunteer here. I don't work for Lenovo
Serial Port
michaelmartin
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Location: South Africa
0

Re: Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

Thank you vijaysaradhi, I'll try that :smileyhappy:

Serial Port
michaelmartin
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Location: South Africa
0

Re: Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

If I change the process affinity in task manager for Cubase will I have to do that every time I open Cubase? Or will the setting be remembered?

buddinggeek
Posts: 2,852
Topics: 105
Kudos: 140
Blog Posts: 0
Solutions: 118
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Location: Texas A&M University, Commerce
0

Re: Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

Unfortunately no... you need to do it every time you  log into the system,but atleast you will void the need of shutting down a core! :smileywink:

 

 

 






Cheers and regards,
• » νιנαソѕαяα∂нι ѕαмανє∂αм ™ « •
Think : T410,X220T,Thinkpad Yoga
Idea :3000H,Z500,U410,Yoga 11, Yoga tab 10,Horizon
●๋•کáŕádhí'ک díáŕý ツ


I am a volunteer here. I don't work for Lenovo
Serial Port
michaelmartin
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Location: South Africa
0

Re: Core Multi-Processing option in BIOS

Thanks vijaysaradhi :-)