Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Paper Tape
KarlOttmer
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-23-2012
Location: DE
0

R400 - Visual corruption and missing BIOS options?

Hey there,

 

since I switched to Windows 7 (x86) I have this (known) Visual corruption Problem (Type B) with my Thinpad R400 (RAM 2+1GB): http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/diagnose-and-fix/detail.page?DocID=HT001223

 

While I was trying to solve that like suggested, I faced a second problem: After a BIOS update to current Versio 3.23 the needed VT-d Option is gone! In the old BIOS (Im not sure but think it was something like version 2.12) it was there (under Config/CPU). VT-d was still set to enabled before the BIOS update. In Config/CPU now there is just one "multicore"-Option left, so i think VT-d is not the only option that disappeared with the current BIOS.

 

I already tried to reset the BIOS, to downgrade to an older BIOS-Version (the oldest i found was 3.15-1.06) but nothing brought back that VT-d option.

 

Please, help! I really dont know what to do now. Is there any way to get those missing options back? Or any other solution to that Visual corruption? As i read that adding RAM (2 eqaul modules )didn't help in some cases I want to do that only at last.

 

Kind Regards,

Karl

Community Moderator
zoltanthegypsy
Posts: 3,423
Registered: ‎01-13-2008
Location: Bainbridge Island, WA, USA
0

Re: R400 - Visual corruption and missing BIOS options?

Hello Karl,

 

This is strange.  I'm running 3.23 in my T400, and the VT-d option is still there in config/CPU.

 

I don't see it in the BIOS notes, but I wonder if that option is removed when you are running memory configurations known to cause the problem?  This is just speculation on my part, and I admit it doesn't make much sense :smileysad:

 

Memory configurations said to work are two modules of the same size, or one module only.

 

After making sure your BIOS is reset to defaults, and doing a full power-off, power-on and reboot - and if you still don't see that option, try pulling one of your RAM sticks.

 

BTW, why do you need the VT-d option?  VT is required by most virtual hosts, but it's unusual to require VT-d.

 

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.

 

The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored. ... GeezBlog

English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Paper Tape
KarlOttmer
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-23-2012
Location: DE
0

Re: R400 - Visual corruption and missing BIOS options?

Thx for you answer.

 

I tried to reset the BIOS (again) like suggested, but still no VT-d Options or any other of the Option disappeared in the CPU-section.

 

You are right, VT-d is nothing you really need, but speeds up VMs. On my R400 I didnt need it, it was just habit to activate it as on other PCs I usually need it. I had no clue that it could have any negative effect. There where none til I switched to W7.

 

I have got 2 equal RAM modules from a friend (2x 8GB DDR3) and it seems that this helped: No visual corruption currently, but still no VT-d option etc. in BIOS.

 

@ Lenovo Support: Please take care about that as soon as possible!!! Give me back my VT-d options etc. ;-)

 

Or if it had any reason to cancel that option: It cant be that BIOS options disappeare but the set value stays what ever it was. At least you set it to a safe default-value.

 

Greets

K.

 

PS: Is there any official mail-address I can reach qualified lenovo-tech-support? At the german hotline they cant (or dont want) to help me.

lead_org
Posts: 20,899
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,252
Solutions: 1,342
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: R400 - Visual corruption and missing BIOS options?

you are running 2 x 8 gigs of ram in your R400?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Paper Tape
KarlOttmer
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-23-2012
Location: DE
0

Re: R400 - Visual corruption and missing BIOS options?

Sorry, I meant 2x 4GB = 8GB total. I'm Not sure if more is supported.

 

Greet,

K.

lead_org
Posts: 20,899
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,252
Solutions: 1,342
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: R400 - Visual corruption and missing BIOS options?

that is good, because the last time i tried the 8 gigs module it didn't work.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft