Support in other languages: 
Blue Screen Again
fyrchck
Accepted Solution

R50 Wireless problems

I had a virus on my laptop, a Thinkpad R50 Type 1830, and had to do a complete re-installation. The only problem is that the installation disk was not for the laptop, but instead for my desktop.
Ever since the virus infected my computer, I have not been able to add my network connection. In device manager, nothing shows up for a wireless network card. I assume this is what my problem is.
I have gone to the R50 age and downloaded every driver I could find. It still does not show any wireless adapter. There is more than one driver to download and not one of them works. I am clueless on how I can find out what kind of adapter is in this computer; I am not very tech savvy.
I do have a non-working R50 that if needed I can open up and take any needed parts, but I am thinking this is unnecessary.
I am beyond frustrated trying to figure this out, and will likely end up getting another refurbished laptop. But in the meantime if I could connect wirelessly, that would be great!
If I have downloaded all of the drivers on the website, why wouldn't it show up in my Device Manager? And there is something under "Other Devices" and has a huge yellow question mark. It is titled "Network Controller" I cannot figure out what this is to and how to get it working.

Can anyone help me??

Bit Torrent
Vince69

Re: R50 Wireless problems

Hello mate,

Install system update and let it find and install the missing driver.

for win 7 : http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-73695

for win xp/vista : http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-66956

__________________________________________________________________________________

Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information on it.