Support in other languages: 
Reply
What's DOS?
dili123in
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-18-2012
Location: United Kingdom
0

SL 510 memory upgrade problem

Hi today i tried to upgrade my sl510 2847 with 2x 4gb ram.but system not recognising the ram. i followed the crucial memoery adviser  and bought DDR3 PC3-10600

  • Module Size8GB Kit (4GBx2)
  • Package204-pin SODIMM
  • FeatureDDR3 PC3-10600
  • SpecsDDR3 PC3-10600CL=9UnbufferedNON-ECCDDR3-13331.35V512Meg x 64 

any suggestion guys why its not working.i tried with one module and with both modules but none seems to work

lead_org
Posts: 20,765
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,236
Solutions: 1,327
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: SL 510 memory upgrade problem

[ Edited ]

which CPU does your machine have? Also, Crucial ram is notorious in not been compatible with thinkpads on many occasions.  It was Corsair, sorry for the mix up. 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Community Moderator
zoltanthegypsy
Posts: 3,292
Registered: ‎01-13-2008
Location: Bainbridge Island, WA, USA
0

Re: SL 510 memory upgrade problem

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

@lead_org, I wonder if you are thinking of Corsair RAM?  IIRC, that's the one that has all the bad reports around here.

 

I'm running 8G of Crucial in my T400 - and other Crucial in other Lenovo laptops - without problems.

 

Of course, YMMV,

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.

 

The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored. ... GeezBlog

lead_org
Posts: 20,765
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,236
Solutions: 1,327
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: SL 510 memory upgrade problem

oh yeah, what was i thinking. Yes i meant Corsair.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Fanfold Paper
str1979
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-31-2011
Location: greece

Betreff: SL 510 memory upgrade problem

i have 2x4gb ddr3 samsung with no problems

Retired Employee
NINE
Posts: 2,840
Registered: ‎03-20-2012
Location: Malaysia
0

Betreff: SL 510 memory upgrade problem

hi dili123in,

 

May i know which operating system are you currently running. Are you on a 32bit or 64bit. As if you are currently running the 32bit, there is a high chance where the memory you installed may not be read to its full potential. Should you require to utilize the 8Gb of ram you've installed you will have install the 64bit version of the Windows.

 

Do let us know of the update and i'll to assist you as best as i can.

 

Regards