Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Serial Port
jiang
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: Germany
0

SL500 Intel GMA 4500MHD

hi lenovo community,

 

there is something that is really strange: i use vista premium 32 sp1 and the vista experience index says that my Intel 4500mhd is rated with 3.1 in normal graphics and 3.5 in gaming graphics.

How is it possible, that the rating of normal graphics is lower than the gaming graphics?

 

intel driver is the 7.15.10.1608

 

thanks for answers in advance!

 

Fanfold Paper
stannhuang
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: Kansas
0

Re: SL500 Intel GMA 4500MHD

well it is somehow weird, but sometimes it does happen. if you are not sure what's going on, just do the Performance Test again, that "update my score" button, try again. if that happens again, thats ok, probably you are using lots of fancy stuff or so, my X4500MHD is 3.8 for gaming and 4.1 for regular. actually regular one means aero stuff which might need lots of memory to work out, if you have 1G memory, that might be a shortage for X4500, it took about 700mb in my 2GB memory and now my PF is above 90% all the time
802.11n
Xeogin
Posts: 183
Registered: ‎08-21-2008
Location: United States
0

Re: SL500 Intel GMA 4500MHD

Mine is the same way, my Aero gfx rating is much lower than my gaming one, I figured that was just normal.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Currently Just passed the CompTIA A+ 601 with flying colours! =D
Owner of an SL500 running Vista Business with 4GB of PC2 6400 RAM
Serial Port
jiang
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: Germany
0

Re: SL500 Intel GMA 4500MHD

thanks for the answers!

 

@ stannhuang: wow thats totally weird. you've got a 1.0 higher rating in regular graphics. what kind of RAM do you use? 

What's DOS?
mirakulix
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-23-2008
Location: Austria
0

Re: SL500 Intel GMA 4500MHD

hy i have the same problem in vista but in windows 7 i have rating 4,5 at gaming performance and 3,8 for windows

so i was thinking that was a mistake of w7 but i startet gta san andreas and i have played at 1280x800 max all 30fps

and nfs uncoverd at 1024x768 no aa no shadows the other settings was mainstream like and it was possible to play this game

 

so w7 is gone and i  have back my vista  ..... and now i have started ^gta sa again and what can i say its not playable like diashow no metter 640x400 ore 800x600 its unplayable

and nfs tzzzztzzzz no chance

 

so what we should do? ^

i think the 4500mhd is more powerfull than we think, what we need is a how to do in vista

 

sorry for my bad english

greets from Austria Tirol

Token Ring
Sxooter
Posts: 276
Registered: ‎10-01-2008
Location: Denver, CO
0

Re: SL500 Intel GMA 4500MHD

I think MS needs to just get windows 7 out the door if it's that much faster.  If W7 gets games back to pre-vista speeds it's worth the cost of upgrade to a gamer.  Instant sales.
Serial Port
jiang
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: Germany
0

Re: SL500 Intel GMA 4500MHD

[ Edited ]
i just recognized that you can't change the values in the intel gma driver's power management, such as power modulation technology. is there a way to configure these settings?
Message Edited by jiang on 12-25-2008 07:34 AM
Paper Tape
panjkov
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-24-2008
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
0

Re: SL500 Intel GMA 4500MHD

I have found this thread and another one [ http://forums.lenovo.com/lnv/board/message?board.id=SL_ThinkPads&thread.id=1360 ] very helpful.

Here is my situation: I have purchased 2746-6FG and in the time of purchase, they upgraded it to 3GB wih another DDR2-800 module. Inside was 1GB DDR2-667 and my memory bus is running on 667MHz now. My WEI is 3,2 which is lower than on i965/x3100. I was wondering to remove that factory module and to see would my memory run on 800MHz then, and now I am sure that it would. It would probably increased my WEI by 0.1 or 0.2, but I don't need it now(I don't use it for any of itensive operations). I was just curious to see if my chipset and bus support those speeds.

Serial Port
jiang
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: Germany
0

Re: SL500 Intel GMA 4500MHD

someone any idea?
Punch Card
yellowdog
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-13-2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
0

Re: SL500 Intel GMA 4500MHD

jiang

 

Not sure if you're still monitoring  this thread, but I'm also interested in wei readings with driver 7.15.10.1608.

 

Mine are the same as yours with 7.15.10.1608 - that is "3.1 in normal graphics and 3.5 in gaming graphics".

 

But using 7.15.10.1508 (that's 1508 instead of 1608), I get 4.0 in normal graphics and 3.7 in gaming graphics.

 

What I'd like to know is whether 1608 really slows down graphics processing or it is a quirk of the wei calculations.

 

I'd have to reload 1608 (I'm currently back to 1508) and go and get some proper graphics measurement program to find out, and I'm busy at the moment.

 

Incidentally, this isn't on a Lenovo computer but on an Asus.

 

Mike