Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Ctrl-Alt-Del
SonicZR1
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-14-2011
Location: Russia
0

SL500 shuts down because of videocard overheating

[ Edited ]

After 2 years of use (and successfully breaking left hinge this summer :smileylol:) my SL500 began suddenly shutting down, especially if games or something similiarly CPU-overloading is running. When I turn it on again, cooler rotates like crazy (and sometimes display stays black with NumLock and CapsLock indicators turned on).

I'm suspecting dust, but I can't open cooler section to see and clean it.

 

Please help. It's very annoying.

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,729
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: SL500 shuts down for no reason

You can use HWMonitor to see your temperatures.

It sounds like overheating though...

You can take off the keyboard to clean the fan:
http://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc/pccbbs/mobiles_pdf/43y6762_03.pdf
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1090/695/1390, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Ctrl-Alt-Del
SonicZR1
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-14-2011
Location: Russia
0

Re: SL500 shuts down for no reason

[ Edited ]

I've got why I can't remove thermal door. I'll try to remove it after next shutdown.

 

As for program, thanks.

 

---

 

...Have you ever seen TONS of dust? I've seen that amount in radiator of my laptop.

Now it's clean. Thanks.

\\the problem of opening thermal door was the foolproof - hidden screw. Screw it. But removing keyboard is masahism.

 

---

 

Wait, wha?... again!?

 

---

 

Got it. Videocard is still overheating.

So... where is it?

Ctrl-Alt-Del
SonicZR1
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-14-2011
Location: Russia
0

Re: SL500 shuts down for no reason

I'm going to visit service center tomorrow. Hoping on any results.
Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,729
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: SL500 shuts down for no reason

I cleaned out an X61 after a year or two of neglect. There were chunks of dust almost the size of a marble.

You may need to repaste as well.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1090/695/1390, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Ctrl-Alt-Del
SonicZR1
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-14-2011
Location: Russia
0

Re: SL500 shuts down for no reason

I'm afraid I'll need to repaste it. :\