Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Token Ring
paulgj
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎08-31-2008
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA
0

8GB RAM question in T400

Hello,

 

I put 8GB of RAM into my T400 (2 x 4GB PC3-8500 G-Skill modules), and notice that in the system properties in Windows 7 Pro 64-bit the memory is listed as installed memory 8.00GB (7.90 GB usable).    This seems kinda strange since I also have a T61 with 8GB RAM and with the same OS is listed with a flat 8.00GB (oresumeably all 8GB usable)

 

Both machines use integrated graphics.

 

Just wondering if anyone knows what the issue is (if any) and if my RAM could be faulty,

 

Thanks!

-Paul


T400 6475-8Q5 | 8GB RAM | WXGA+ | Seagate 500GB 7200 | Win 7 Pro 64-bit............T61 7658-CTR | 8GB RAM | WD Black 320GB
lead_org
Posts: 20,905
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,254
Solutions: 1,343
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: 8GB RAM question in T400

your ram isn't faulty, Intel 4500 MHD have just reserved a bit of your ram for its own use.

my T400 reports 2.90 gigs usable with 4 gigs of ram under win 7 32 bit.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Token Ring
paulgj
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎08-31-2008
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA
0

Re: 8GB RAM question in T400

hmmmm, thanks for the reply.   I'm also finding that the Windows Memory Diagnostic program never gets to completion on my T400, it gets to a particular percentage, say 54% in the latest case and then hangs necessitating a forced power off.  Very strange.  Don't have this problem with the T61.


T400 6475-8Q5 | 8GB RAM | WXGA+ | Seagate 500GB 7200 | Win 7 Pro 64-bit............T61 7658-CTR | 8GB RAM | WD Black 320GB
lead_org
Posts: 20,905
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,254
Solutions: 1,343
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: 8GB RAM question in T400

use memtest+ and see what happens with that.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Token Ring
paulgj
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎08-31-2008
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA
0

Re: 8GB RAM question in T400

[ Edited ]

Memtest+ works fine, keeps going and going with no errors. I wonder what is causing the Microsoft program to choke? (note I ran it again and it ran all the way through - seems intermittent)


T400 6475-8Q5 | 8GB RAM | WXGA+ | Seagate 500GB 7200 | Win 7 Pro 64-bit............T61 7658-CTR | 8GB RAM | WD Black 320GB
lead_org
Posts: 20,905
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,254
Solutions: 1,343
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: 8GB RAM question in T400

i am not sure why you are having the problem, probably due to internal glitches with the OS.

Hum, Lenovo also have the memory test softwares, in the thinkvantage software diagnostic tools, do you have that?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Token Ring
paulgj
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎08-31-2008
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA

Re: 8GB RAM question in T400

[ Edited ]

Hi, thanks for the reply, I am currently running the alternative Windows Diagnostic utility from here: http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp and it seems to be running OK from the boot disk. 

 

Yes I also have the Lenovo ThinkVantage Toolbox and that checks out OK.

 

I guess i'll have to assume that the Windows memory diagnostic built into the OS has some issues with my hardware configuration. Maybe I will post in the MS forums and delve further into the mystery.

 

Thanks!


T400 6475-8Q5 | 8GB RAM | WXGA+ | Seagate 500GB 7200 | Win 7 Pro 64-bit............T61 7658-CTR | 8GB RAM | WD Black 320GB
Token Ring
paulgj
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎08-31-2008
Location: Bellevue, WA, USA

Re: 8GB RAM question in T400

Update:  By disabling every setting in the BIOS, the Windows Memory Diagnostic now runs without hanging :smileyvery-happy:. Got the idea from reading the MemTest86+ forums.


T400 6475-8Q5 | 8GB RAM | WXGA+ | Seagate 500GB 7200 | Win 7 Pro 64-bit............T61 7658-CTR | 8GB RAM | WD Black 320GB