Support in other languages: 
Reply
Paper Tape
thresh
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-14-2010
Location: China
0
Accepted Solution

Activate RTM windows 7 pro on my T410?

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

My T410 has a valid product key for Windows 7 professional (I believe it is Lenovo OEM version) and I believe it has Win 7 pre-loaded.  Unfortunately, a IT staff in my company re-write all my disk with a XP image.  He also destroyed the reseration (OS recovery) partition of my disk.

 

I have no choice but to install a RTM image of Windows 7 professional, but I find my product key is invalid for this image.  Can anybody help me out?  TIA!

 

Phil Dai

 

 

edit: personal information removed for your own safety.

Token Ring
napalm
Posts: 166
Registered: ‎07-31-2010
Location: Canada
0

Re: Activate RTM windows 7 pro on my T410?

I'd suggest you order the "restore to factory" disks from Lenovo. They contain much more than Windows. Have the IT guy pay for them.

 

Nap.

lead_org
Posts: 20,352
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,201
Solutions: 1,277
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: Activate RTM windows 7 pro on my T410?

the win 7 key on your laptop should be valid for both retail and OEM version of the win 7. You should call Microsoft up and ask them about it. 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Paper Tape
thresh
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-14-2010
Location: China
0

Re: Activate RTM windows 7 pro on my T410?

[ Edited ]

@napalm

 

agree!

Paper Tape
thresh
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-14-2010
Location: China
0

Re: Activate RTM windows 7 pro on my T410?

@lead_org

 

I've tried again...it is invalid.  But thanks for the response!

 

It was heard from my friend -- if I installed some 'oem license' file, the activation would success.

 

BTW, the type is 2357-GK4.

 

It is 4 am in Aus...have a good sleep!

 

Best Regards,

Phil Dai

lead_org
Posts: 20,352
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,201
Solutions: 1,277
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: Activate RTM windows 7 pro on my T410?

There is a chance that your key is been activated by someone else. 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Paper Tape
thresh
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-14-2010
Location: China
0

Re: Activate RTM windows 7 pro on my T410?

Thanks for all repsonses!

 

Activated successfully via phone!

 

Best Regards,

Phil