Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
lead_org
Posts: 20,905
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,254
Solutions: 1,343
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: Can I use old SATA drive in new T520?

it could be the XP that is causing the problem.

Try to use an external USB enclousre to access the data.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Bit Torrent
tripplec
Posts: 1,472
Registered: ‎03-08-2012
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
0

Re: Can I use old SATA drive in new T520?

Did you have encryption on in the old computer? If so you're never crack into it unless you have some back key or whatever they use/used on it. One reason I won't use encryption on files either hardware or Windows software encryption without a 500% sure means of getting at it again and that include through another machine or USB external enclosure.

As for it being XP, you should have seen the XP logo if its starting up. But it sound like thats not happening. Therefore you have to answer the question above. The only way maybe to decrypt it in the old computer somehow. I believe your best bet is to call Lenovo on this.
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QM CPU @ 2.50GHz
Intel Sandy Bridge & Nvidia NVS 4200M graphics Intel N 6300 Wi-Fi adapter
Windows 7 Home Prem - 64bit w/8GB DDR3
Posts: 1,502
Topics: 38
Kudos: 117
Solutions: 49
Registered: ‎04-20-2010
Location: Jeffersonville, Indiana
0

Re: Can I use old SATA drive in new T520?

If I may butt in, you just mentioned the T500 HDD has XP. Have you changed the new T520 bios from AHCI to IDE/Compatabilty mode?

To me that would be why the T520 does not see it.
IT Specialist and Consultant
Lenovo Tablet Evangelist
Current Machines: IdeaCentre A300, ThinkPad Tablet, ThinkPad L410, and IdeaPad U410 Touch

Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español

Lenovo - the latest in DOtabs, DOpads, DOcentre's, DOstations and DOservers!
Fanfold Paper
philip_102uk
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-31-2009
Location: UK
0

Re: Can I use old SATA drive in new T520?

Hi MrPeters,

 

You are making a good point. If i try to boot in AHCI mode I get the blue screen of death. If I use compatibility mode I get a little further but then I get the "Disk read error" problem.

 

I have also tried connecting the old drive to a USB adaptor to boot from it and this gets me even further and I actually see the XP splash screen but then after a few second I get the blue screen of death again!

 

Any further thoughts?

 

 

 

Posts: 1,502
Topics: 38
Kudos: 117
Solutions: 49
Registered: ‎04-20-2010
Location: Jeffersonville, Indiana
0

Re: Can I use old SATA drive in new T520?

Ok. That's real good. That's caused by drivers being miss matched. You will need to boot to safemode and uninstall the drivers not being used. Like the old gpu drivers etc...

Post back if safemode doesn't work. Good luck.
IT Specialist and Consultant
Lenovo Tablet Evangelist
Current Machines: IdeaCentre A300, ThinkPad Tablet, ThinkPad L410, and IdeaPad U410 Touch

Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español

Lenovo - the latest in DOtabs, DOpads, DOcentre's, DOstations and DOservers!
WWAN
mixz1
Posts: 390
Registered: ‎01-22-2008
Location: Cancun, Mexico
0

Re: Can I use old SATA drive in new T520?


philip_102uk wrote:

Hi MrPeters,

 

You are making a good point. If i try to boot in AHCI mode I get the blue screen of death. If I use compatibility mode I get a little further but then I get the "Disk read error" problem.

 

I have also tried connecting the old drive to a USB adaptor to boot from it and this gets me even further and I actually see the XP splash screen but then after a few second I get the blue screen of death again!

 

Any further thoughts?

 

 

 


Am I missing something? If you need to fetch data from the old drive and you have it in a USB enclosure, why are you insisting that you boot from that drive? It's going to blue screen because of any number of driver mis-matches, i.e. video, audio, chipset, etc.

 

Why not put the 520 back together, boot into Win7 as it was intended to, mount the USB enclosure and read the data you need from the old drive?

T520 4239-CTO
T61/p 6459-CTO (Gone but not forgotten)
A31/p XP Pro 1 gig memory
A30/p XP Pro 1 gig memory
TP600 Win 2K 288 mb memory
701C Win 98 Don't ask
Bit Torrent
tripplec
Posts: 1,472
Registered: ‎03-08-2012
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
0

Re: Can I use old SATA drive in new T520?

Exactly what I've been wondering. Thats the normal way. I go tired of this.
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QM CPU @ 2.50GHz
Intel Sandy Bridge & Nvidia NVS 4200M graphics Intel N 6300 Wi-Fi adapter
Windows 7 Home Prem - 64bit w/8GB DDR3
Fanfold Paper
philip_102uk
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-31-2009
Location: UK
0

Re: Can I use old SATA drive in new T520?

Hi MrPeters,

 

I tried booting in Safe Mode but it did not work as I get the blue screen. What would be the next step?

 

All I want to do is boot from my old XP hard drive so that I can use it instead of the Win 7 one. I don't care much about Windows 7 and the new drive is a 7200 rpm that makes too much noise. If you can help me to solve this problem it will save me from having to return the T520 back to the vendor.

 

Thanks,

 

Philip

 

 

 

WWAN
mixz1
Posts: 390
Registered: ‎01-22-2008
Location: Cancun, Mexico
0

Re: Can I use old SATA drive in new T520?

[ Edited ]

It's not going to work. Besides, you are trying to run an OS that will be unsupported by 2014. If you want to use XP you are going to have to do a fresh install. If you can't mount your old drive, you can't even beging to straighten out the driver mismatches. Your new machine was designed around Win 7 and having the same machine, I cannot fathom what you are talking about when you state the 7200 RPM drive makes too much noise.

 

Since you are very clear in your desire to run a soon to be obsolete OS on a smaller and slower hard drive, I wish you luck. You should insure that you can find drivers that support your hardware under XP before you try a fresh install. I leave it to you or others to do that research.

 

I don't understand it, but I respect your choice. Nevertheless I don't think anyone is going to be able to help you.

T520 4239-CTO
T61/p 6459-CTO (Gone but not forgotten)
A31/p XP Pro 1 gig memory
A30/p XP Pro 1 gig memory
TP600 Win 2K 288 mb memory
701C Win 98 Don't ask
Bit Torrent
tripplec
Posts: 1,472
Registered: ‎03-08-2012
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
0

Re: Can I use old SATA drive in new T520?

It isn't going to work, today, tomorrow or next month. Clean install as per mixz1. Locate drivers in advance you'll need. 4-5hrs if you're lucky.

Win 7 is on the machine. You'll get no support for XP on a 520 either.

Bump...
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QM CPU @ 2.50GHz
Intel Sandy Bridge & Nvidia NVS 4200M graphics Intel N 6300 Wi-Fi adapter
Windows 7 Home Prem - 64bit w/8GB DDR3