Support in other languages: 
Reply
Punch Card
ITemplate
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎12-17-2008
Location: Denmark
0

Can I use this OCZ SSD with my T500?

Hi,

 

I have my eyes on this SSD from OCZ:

http://www.ocztechnology.com/products/flash_drives/ocz_core_series_v2_sata_ii_2_5-ssd


But the shop here in Denmark where I purchased the T500 says that I have to contact Lenovo to be sure that it fits with my laptop.

Does anyone here know for sure that it fits?

 

-- 

(I will post answer to xpost (#17): http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=354566&page=2)

 

Punch Card
thinkpad4me
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-01-2008
Location: NY
0

Re: Can I use this OCZ SSD with my T500?

[ Edited ]

It will work but it will not be faster than the HDD that comes with the T500 IMO.    The Core series are old news.  The latest Apex and Vertex SSD drives are much better.  The Apex drives are quite affordable and if you follow the tweaks on OCZ's forum as well as align the drive you'll see a very nice improvement.  They run quite hot for some reason though. 

 

The Vertex 120Gb drives cost a bit more ($480USD if you look around) but may well knock Intel off their throne once they ship this week based on early reviews.

 

You may want to check out the OCZ forum for lots of good tips about optimizing your system for SSD http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=186

Message Edited by thinkpad4me on 02-20-2009 10:44 AM
Ctrl-Alt-Del
ojisan
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-25-2009
Location: Germany
0

Re: Can I use this OCZ SSD with my T500?

I'm tinkering with the idea of buying an replacement SSD that suits my T500, too. My current HDD appears to loud and slow, and I'm not really satisfied.

The OCZ Apex 120 specs sound reeaally nice, and the price seems high but acceptable.
http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=290&Itemid=60

Although there some issues - performance and price will probably get better in 2009 - I think I don't want to wait any longer.
--
T500 (20827SG) T9550 4GB+2GB Robson, 320GB Vista Business 64bit, Ramdisk, no Pagefile
15.4" WSXGA+ Intel GMA4500M / Ati HD3650, A-Dock (2803) w/ Papst 612FL, 2x 17" SXGA Matrox G550 Dual DVI (MDDE32F)
Punch Card
ITemplate
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎12-17-2008
Location: Denmark
0

Re: Can I use this OCZ SSD with my T500?

Thanks all, essentailly the same answers as on notebookreview. Allthough Im surprised to hear that the OCZ (any SSD) isnt outperforming a standard HDD. But for me, this isnt really the greatest issue. Im more focused on soundness.

 

Just a tad worried about the JMicron stuttering of these MLC drives though...

 

--

 

Punch Card
Rich_Carpenter
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-29-2009
Location: Central Indiana
0

Re: Can I use this OCZ SSD with my T500?

[ Edited ]

Do plenty of research. I've read that even he worst SSD is still faster than the typical hard drive with the possible exception of concurrent write operations. While the stuttering issue is present with several of the drives, there are tweaks that can help to minimize the problem. The OCZ forums has a pretty good guide for that.

 

Message Edited by Rich_Carpenter on 02-23-2009 04:17 AM