Support in other languages: 
Reply
Punch Card
dominik_heine
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-18-2009
Location: Australia
0

Can a T500 run SATA 3.0 Gbit/s?

 Hi!

 

I'm having a Lenovo ThinkPad T500 (2081CTO) and I want to buy a new hard drive.

 

I would like to buy a SSD, but just due to the fact that I read that the mechanical HDDs are just too slow to really take advantage of SATA 3.0 Gbit/s.

This was stated here as well as that it should be working with approximately the speed of SATA 3.0 Gbit/s: http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/T61-and-prior-T-series-ThinkPad/T61-Support-SATA-II/m-p/64464/page/6?vie...

 

 

Now I read here that my notebook would not be able to use the SATA 3.0 Gbit/s anyway: http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/T400-T500-and-newer-T-series/Quick-T500-question/m-p/71948#M6012 

 

 

Can somebody please clarify this for me or post test results if somebody has done this kind of after-market upgrade - is the second post just wrong or is there a problem with the T500?

 

 

Thanks for your help!

 

Cheers

Dominik

lead_org
Posts: 20,756
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,235
Solutions: 1,324
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: Can a T500 run SATA 3.0 Gbit/s?

[ Edited ]

it can't fully saturate sata I in its native speed, no platter hdd can. 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Posts: 1,502
Topics: 38
Kudos: 117
Solutions: 49
Registered: ‎04-20-2010
Location: Jeffersonville, Indiana
0

Re: Can a T500 run SATA 3.0 Gbit/s?

[ Edited ]
Per http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-71784 it is SATA not SATA II. But if SATA 3.0 does not run at 3 then it will run under 1.5, that is not a problem. People can confirm that the difference between 1.5 and 3 is not that much. The only huge difference is between a HDD and SSD drive.
IT Specialist and Consultant
Lenovo Tablet Evangelist
Current Machines: IdeaCentre A300, ThinkPad Tablet, ThinkPad L410, and IdeaPad U410 Touch

Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español

Lenovo - the latest in DOtabs, DOpads, DOcentre's, DOstations and DOservers!
Punch Card
dominik_heine
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-18-2009
Location: Australia
0

Re: Can a T500 run SATA 3.0 Gbit/s?

Hi!

 

Thanks for your answers so far.

 

@mrpeter1985: the page just states that the HDDs shipped with the T500 are only SATA - but the controller inside (Intel ICH9M-E/M according to the device manager) is supposed to be able to support SATA 3.0 Gbit/s.

 

 

Does anybody have a SATA 3.0 Gbit/s-HDD in its T500 and could provide a quick benchmark of HDD-throughput, maybe SiSoftware Sandra Lite (http://www.sisoftware.net) or Everest (http://www.lavalys.com)?

 

 

Thanks in advance!

 

 

Cheers

Dominik

Guru
sys3175
Posts: 367
Registered: ‎02-12-2009
Location: Austin, TX
0

Re: Can a T500 run SATA 3.0 Gbit/s?

I believe the T500 has been benchmarked at 3.0 speeds on several sites testing out fast SSD's..  though depending on your bios, and driver versions your mileage may vary..

Thinkpad T500-2081 CTO | T9400 2.53GHz | 8 GB RAM | ATI HD3650 + Intel GM45 | 15.4" LED WXGA+ | Windows 8 | ATI Catalyst 13.1 (non-switchable)
Thinkpad 390x | PII 333 | 256mb ram | NeoMagic 256AV | SVGA LCD | OS/2 v4.52
802.11n
TheDude
Posts: 541
Registered: ‎09-10-2009
Location: USA
0

Re: Can a T500 run SATA 3.0 Gbit/s?

The only way you will get over 1.5 GBs is with an SSD. The T500 spec. is to support SATA II, so put in an SSD and get going.

T61p, T400
formerly x23, x40
Punch Card
dominik_heine
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-18-2009
Location: Australia
0

Re: Can a T500 run SATA 3.0 Gbit/s?

Hi!

 

@sys3175: thanks - that's a good idea! I had a hard time finding benchmarks for the T500 with SSD - I only managed to find this: http://communities.intel.com/message/86694;jsessionid=5F17717E6EF0566924EA8C724AE00E97.node6COM and this: http://kettya.com/notebook2/crystaldiskmark.htm

 

The first link gives hope since it at least gets over the 1.5 Gbit/s - so it appears that SATA 3.0 Gbit/s is supported. The second link is less promising, but well maybe something else was wrong there...

 

 

Do you have any more/better benchmarks?

 

 

Thanks for the help!

 

Cheers

Dominik

Paper Tape
elsass
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-21-2011
Location: fr
0

Re: Can a T500 run SATA 3.0 Gbit/s?

Hello,

 

 

What's new about the SATA speed of levono T400, T500, W500 etc. ?

Here Mark_Levono answer the SATA operate at the normal SATA II speed.

This thread : http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/W-Series-ThinkPad-Laptops/Does-the-ThinkPad-W500-support-SATA-II-in-both...

 

But the same Mark_Levono also responded that le SATA of the T400, T500, W500 is limited at 1.5Gbit which corresponds to SATA I bitrate.

this thead : http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/T61-and-prior-T-series-ThinkPad/T61-Support-SATA-II/m-p/64464/page/6?vie...

 

Clearly today i dont know if a SSD SATA II will be operate with the full bitrate in a lenovo T500...

lead_org
Posts: 20,756
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,235
Solutions: 1,324
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: Can a T500 run SATA 3.0 Gbit/s?

@elsass,

Mark_Lenovo didn't say that the T400, T500, W500 drives are limited to SATAI, but rather he is saying that the platter spinning harddrive used in that generation of ThinkPads are operating in SATAI mode. If you have a SATAII drive then that is what it will operate under.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Punch Card
krzysiuc
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎05-28-2009
Location: Poland
0

Re: Can a T500 run SATA 3.0 Gbit/s?

I can only confirm. I have T500 with Intel 320 SSD and it runs in SATA2 mode.