Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
r4e
Paper Tape
r4e
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Location: Cali
0
Accepted Solution

Express Cards Issue

Hey guys

 

I was told I could add AKE 54mm Express (Ebay Express Card) to get USB 3.0 on T500. However, when I install card , drivers keep installing and uninstalling itself from device manager, then system locks up and/or  BSOD. 

 

I know it may a shot in the dark, I just want to explore every option.......Any suggestion? 

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,808
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: Express Cards Issue

Which OS? Does the card come with drivers?

W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1090/695/1390, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
r4e
Paper Tape
r4e
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Location: Cali
0

Re: Express Cards Issue

I've tried drivers from CD supplied (driver version 2.026.0), HWTOOLSStation-Drivers, and various other website. Same results each time. 

 

Most of information was obtained here

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,808
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: Express Cards Issue

Which OS? Are your chipset drivers up to date?
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1090/695/1390, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
r4e
Paper Tape
r4e
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Location: Cali
0

Re: Express Cards Issue

[ Edited ]

OS: Window 7 64 bit

Driver: All drivers are current. 

Bios Revision: 3.18/3.20 

 

My apology for lack of information. 

nibs
Posts: 879
Topics: 43
Kudos: 143
Solutions: 39
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Location: Portland, OR
0

Re: Express Cards Issue

I have the 34mm AKE USB 3.0 1 port express card + power cable that plugs into USB port. Some of the AKE USB 3.0 34mm drives use a Fresco Logic Chipset and some have a NEC / Renesas Chipset. This might be the same for the 54mm cards as well.

 

I suggest uninstalling all drivers, then restarting, the inserting the card to the computer. Then go to the Device Manager, find it, open it, and go to the "Details" tab. Find "Hardware Ids" from the dropdown menu. You can use the device id to find out who made the chipset here: http://www.pcidatabase.com/ .

 

The Lenovo USB 3 driver works fine with my NEC / Renesas Chipset. http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?LegacyDocID=MIGR-74435 .

 

When I thought I had the Fresco Logic chipset, the driver here http://www.station-drivers.com/page/fresco_logic.htm was highly recommended.

 

I get about 185 MB/sec max over my AKE card when connected to an SSD. The same SSD maxes out at about 250 MB/sec when connected internally. If you want max speeds to an external drive, eSATA (even at SATA II speeds) is probably a better bet.


------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.

My TPs: Twist 2HU: i5-3317U Win 8 Pro, 4GB RAM 250GB Samsung 840 | T420 4177CTO: i5-2520M, HD+, Win 7 Pro x64, 8GB RAM, Optimus, 160GB Intel 320 SSD, Intel 6300 WiFi, BT 3.0 | T400 2764CTO: P8700, WXGA, Win 7 Ult x64, AMD 3470, 8GB RAM, 64GB Samsung SSD, BT, Intel 5300 WiFi | A20m 14.1" PIII 500 (retired). Monitors: 2x Dell U2211h IPS 100% sRGB calibrated w/ Spyder3.
r4e
Paper Tape
r4e
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Location: Cali
0

Re: Express Cards Issue

[ Edited ]

Hmmm........Very interesting......I checked hardware ID (VEN_1033&DEV_0194) and it say Intel(R) 4 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port - 2E29....

 

Think I might have gotten wrong card from seller......GRRRR!!!

 

nibs
Posts: 879
Topics: 43
Kudos: 143
Solutions: 39
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Express Cards Issue

Vendor 1033 with Dev ID 0194 is Renesas Electronics USB 3.0 Host Controller. Try the Lenovo driver: http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?LegacyDocID=MIGR-74435 . If you have the card plugged into the laptop with no driver installed and run Lenovo Update the update utility may automatically install the driver for you. I believe Lenovo used the Renesas (NEC) USB 3.0 chip on the W510 as well as another model.


------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.

My TPs: Twist 2HU: i5-3317U Win 8 Pro, 4GB RAM 250GB Samsung 840 | T420 4177CTO: i5-2520M, HD+, Win 7 Pro x64, 8GB RAM, Optimus, 160GB Intel 320 SSD, Intel 6300 WiFi, BT 3.0 | T400 2764CTO: P8700, WXGA, Win 7 Ult x64, AMD 3470, 8GB RAM, 64GB Samsung SSD, BT, Intel 5300 WiFi | A20m 14.1" PIII 500 (retired). Monitors: 2x Dell U2211h IPS 100% sRGB calibrated w/ Spyder3.
r4e
Paper Tape
r4e
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Location: Cali
0

Re: Express Cards Issue

Tried drivers from Lenovo and getting same results

What's DOS?
darkwarlord
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-25-2012
Location: usa

Re: Express Cards Issue

old topic, reviving dead etc...i know know.

nibs
wanted to say THANK YOU.
I bought a AKE EXPRESS 3.0 card. MiniCD did not work with W7 plus it was garbage. Your hardware tip worked great and I got my Fresco drivers and it works. thank you x10. love ya man