Support in other languages: 
Reply
What's DOS?
andre_wj
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
0
Accepted Solution

Installing Winsows 7 on my T400 - worries about battery

Hello,
recently i've bought a used lenovo t400 (model 6475-R1G). It came with preinstalled Windows Xp Prof (made by downgrade from Vista business). I want to install Windows 7 professional, because i'm a student and I can get for free from MSDN.  Everything would be ok, but i heard that there was a bug in win7 and it destroys batteries in laptops.
I don't want to kill mine, because it lasts for about 5hrs of normal work.
I've searched the internet but the whole rumours abut this bug were from 2009/2010. 

Please tell me, does this bug appears now, or was it completely fixed by MS/Lenovo?

Do i have to install some updates after clean install of win 7 on my t400 (despite power manager and its driver, hotkey stuff etc.)?

Big thanks for your answers :smileyhappy:

lead_org
Posts: 20,376
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,203
Solutions: 1,278
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: Installing Winsows 7 on my T400 - worries about battery

[ Edited ]

Windows 7 doesn't destroy your battery. If you need to maximise the run time, run the Win 7 in basic theme mode.

 

i have windows 7 on mine T400 and it runs just fine. I use ThinkVantage System update to download all the new updates and software for my Win 7.

 

However, there is a bug in Windows 7 that requires you to run a pair of equal sized ram in your machine to prevent screen artificates. i.e. 1 + 1 gigs, 2 + 2 gigs, 4 + 4 gigs, etc. 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
What's DOS?
andre_wj
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
0

Re: Installing Winsows 7 on my T400 - worries about battery

Thank you for your answer. Now I don't have any worries.

I have stock 2GB of ram and I don't plan to upgrade it now.

To be sure, this bug appears in models with ATI and Intel graphics or in all models? Because mine has only intel graphics.
Serial Port
macmovieman
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎12-01-2009
Location: Irvine
0

Re: Installing Winsows 7 on my T400 - worries about battery

More ram might help.

Thinkpad T510-4313 CTO | Core i7 620M 2.66 GHz | 4 GB RAM | NVIDIA 3100m 512 MB | 15.6 inch LED HD Plus | Windows 7 Ultimate 64 | 1- TB (2-500 GB 7200rpm) Hard Drive |
lead_org
Posts: 20,376
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,203
Solutions: 1,278
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: Installing Winsows 7 on my T400 - worries about battery

only when you use Intel GPU.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
What's DOS?
andre_wj
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
0

Re: Installing Winsows 7 on my T400 - worries about battery

lead_org - Thank you for your help.
macmovieman - I don't think that i need mor than 2GB of ram even in win7, because I have Win7 at my home pc and it runs very smooth with 2gb of ram. To be honest it ran smoothly even with 1gb of ram, but gaming was impossible.
To surf the net, do some stuff in office and watch movies/listen to music it's enough.
nibs
Posts: 879
Topics: 43
Kudos: 143
Solutions: 39
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Location: Portland, OR
0

Re: Installing Winsows 7 on my T400 - worries about battery

My T400 is running Win 7 just fine. It shipped with Vista, but came with a free upgrade to Win 7. Once you have the ThinkVantage toolbox and run Lenovo updater, you should have all necessary drivers for Win 7. You can use Power Manager to manage your battery for optimum lifetime, just check the forums for the ideal settings and discussion. 


------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.

My TPs: Twist 2HU: i5-3317U Win 8 Pro, 4GB RAM 250GB Samsung 840 | T420 4177CTO: i5-2520M, HD+, Win 7 Pro x64, 8GB RAM, Optimus, 160GB Intel 320 SSD, Intel 6300 WiFi, BT 3.0 | T400 2764CTO: P8700, WXGA, Win 7 Ult x64, AMD 3470, 8GB RAM, 64GB Samsung SSD, BT, Intel 5300 WiFi | A20m 14.1" PIII 500 (retired). Monitors: 2x Dell U2211h IPS 100% sRGB calibrated w/ Spyder3.