Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Fanfold Paper
brute401
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-25-2012
Location: Canada
0

Re: Lenovo T520 DisplayPort Issue

Canada Computers.
I'll see if I can exchange it for a different cable / refund it.

Thanks again. 

Fanfold Paper
brute401
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-25-2012
Location: Canada
0

T520 problem with 2 external monitors

[ Edited ]

Hi again All,

 

I'm still currently having trouble setting up a second external monitor with my Lenovo T520.

This is somewhat of a second part of another thread

 

As of current, the only functional monitor is the one attached via VGA (port) to VGA on the monitor. I've tried several times using the DisplayPort (this was hooked up with a DisplayPort to VGA adapter which connected to the VGA port of the other monitor), but alas no success.

 

My questions are:

The T520's ARE capable of mulitple displays, right? (Just want to clarify)
Would a USB-to-VGA cable/adapter work in this case? 

and Am I missing any additional software to make this second display work?

 

The monitors (which could be considered a bit old, but not ancient) have only a VGA input.

 

Thanks again, any feedback would be appreciated.

 

Moderator Note; link removed because threads were merged

Bit Torrent
tripplec
Posts: 1,472
Registered: ‎03-08-2012
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
0

Re: T520 problem with 2 external monitors

Yes, two displays, the LCD and one external display only with the Intel Graphics. If you have the Nvidia discrete option you get to support two external displays and the internal.

I gather yours is the former.
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QM CPU @ 2.50GHz
Intel Sandy Bridge & Nvidia NVS 4200M graphics Intel N 6300 Wi-Fi adapter
Windows 7 Home Prem - 64bit w/8GB DDR3
Fanfold Paper
brute401
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-25-2012
Location: Canada
0

Re: T520 problem with 2 external monitors

So there's nothing I can do?


I'm currently using a T520, not the T520i (which came with the Nvidia Card), so Intel graphics. 

 

Bit Torrent
tripplec
Posts: 1,472
Registered: ‎03-08-2012
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
0

Re: T520 problem with 2 external monitors

You say it has the Nvidia then two external will work. I believe you go to the Fn-F7 to get the display panel to activate video changes.
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QM CPU @ 2.50GHz
Intel Sandy Bridge & Nvidia NVS 4200M graphics Intel N 6300 Wi-Fi adapter
Windows 7 Home Prem - 64bit w/8GB DDR3
Bit Torrent
ThorsHammer
Posts: 2,400
Registered: ‎04-08-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: Lenovo T520 DisplayPort Issue


brute401 wrote:

I think I'm on to something here.


I did a print-screen to see what was going on, and I came up with a screenshot with both monitors.

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/4691/monitorproblem.png


This must mean there is an output problem on the monitor.
However, the monitor is perfectly functioning (I have tested it several times).

Could the problem be the adapter?
It's an SVGA to DisplayPort (vice-versa).
Could it be affecting it? 


I am not clear on the issue.  It appears from this screenshot that both monitors are working.  What is the problem then?

Fanfold Paper
brute401
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-25-2012
Location: Canada
0

Re: Lenovo T520 DisplayPort Issue

Absolutely no idea.
The computer is outputting but the monitor is not recieving for no reason. 

Bit Torrent
ThorsHammer
Posts: 2,400
Registered: ‎04-08-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: Lenovo T520 DisplayPort Issue

[ Edited ]

What two monitors are being used in the screenshot you provided?  Clearly two displays are being used.  Is one of them the LCD panel on the T520?

 

If you have an Optimus based T520, you can drive up to 4 displays.

If you don't have an Optimus based T520, you can drive up to 2 displays.

 

So if the screenshot includes the notebook LCD panel, you can't drive it and two external displays with a notebook that doesn't have Optimus.

 

See http://www.lenovo.com/support/thinkpad/optimus-monitors for more information.

 

What DisplayPort -> VGA adaptor are you using?

Fanfold Paper
brute401
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-25-2012
Location: Canada
0

Re: Lenovo T520 DisplayPort Issue

Sorry for the late reply, been kinda busy.

I am using Acer 1916w's, with a generic DisplayPort to VGA adapter I picked up from my local computer store. 

lead_org
Posts: 20,895
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,249
Solutions: 1,341
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: Lenovo T520 DisplayPort Issue

Does your 19 inch Acer take DVI? Maybe try a simple Displayport to dvi converter, if you Acer is capable of supporting a DVI.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft