Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Punch Card
GiedriusZ
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-07-2011
Location: Lithuania
0
Accepted Solution

OS freeze and force shutdown

My T520 has a strange issue, though I think it has something to do with Windows. I'm on 64-bit Windows 7 Professional OS.

This freezing thing happens randomly (for example when browsing internet, IM'ing etc. ,though I haven't experienced it while playing a game as Dirt 3 or watching some videos on YouTube or movies). What happens is the OS just freezes and you can't do anything (mouse, keyboard and all the Fn buttons don't work anymore). After about a minute the computer automatically shut downs and I have to switch it on again and use the 'Start Windows normally' screen.

Is there a tool to run a report or scan for problems why the computer could be freezing like that?

ThinkPad T520 i5-2410M(2.3GHz), 4GB RAM, 500GB 7200rpm HD, 15.6in 1600x900 LCD, NVIDIA NVS 4200M 1GB
What's DOS?
julle
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-08-2011
Location: Sweden
0

Re: OS freeze and force shutdown

I have the exact same problem with my T520. Support had it for three weeks and then did the usual, wiped the disc and loaded a new image. It worked about two weeks and then it started again. Recently received a new hard drive and did a clean install but it still frezes up.

Punch Card
GiedriusZ
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-07-2011
Location: Lithuania
0

Re: OS freeze and force shutdown

Still haven't solved this problem, though my laptop doesn't freeze that often now (last time was maybe 2 days ago when it used to freeze like once in a day).

It might be some driver problem but I had no luck identifying it. I read about this problem in Windows forums, but nobody had a clear solution to the problem.

ThinkPad T520 i5-2410M(2.3GHz), 4GB RAM, 500GB 7200rpm HD, 15.6in 1600x900 LCD, NVIDIA NVS 4200M 1GB
Token Ring
jmstuckman
Posts: 163
Registered: ‎07-02-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: OS freeze and force shutdown

Go to the System control panel...advanced system settings...startup and recovery...under "system failure", turn on "write an event to the event log", turn off "automatically reboot".

 

When the freeze happens, see if you get a blue screen, or an event in the System event log.

Punch Card
GiedriusZ
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-07-2011
Location: Lithuania
0

Re: OS freeze and force shutdown

[ Edited ]

OK so I had another freeze and in the Event Viewer found 1 critical and 2 errors. 

 

Event #1

 

General: The previous system shutdown at 11:05:35 PM on ‎9/‎9/‎2011 was unexpected.

Source: Event Log

Task Category: None

Keywords: Classic

 

- System 

  - Provider 

   [ Name]  EventLog 
 
  - EventID 6008 

   [ Qualifiers]  32768 
 
   Level 2 
 
   Task 0 
 
   Keywords 0x80000000000000 
 
  - TimeCreated 

   [ SystemTime]  2011-09-09T20:07:07.000000000Z 
 
   EventRecordID 29765 
 
   Channel System 
 
   Computer Giedrius-PC 
 
   Security 
 

- EventData 

   11:05:35 PM 
   ‎9/‎9/‎2011 
    
    
   19245 
    
    
   DB070900050009001700050023006B01DB070900050009001400050023006B013C0000003C0000000000000000000000000000000000000001000000095F0000 


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Binary data:


In Words

0000: 000907DB 00090005 00050017 016B0023 
0008: 000907DB 00090005 00050014 016B0023 
0010: 0000003C 0000003C 00000000 00000000 
0018: 00000000 00000000 00000001 00005F09 


In Bytes

0000: DB 07 09 00 05 00 09 00   Û.......
0008: 17 00 05 00 23 00 6B 01   ....#.k.
0010: DB 07 09 00 05 00 09 00   Û.......
0018: 14 00 05 00 23 00 6B 01   ....#.k.
0020: 3C 00 00 00 3C 00 00 00   <...<...
0028: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00   ........
0030: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00   ........
0038: 01 00 00 00 09 5F 00 00   ....._..

 

  Event #2 - this one was critical

 

General: The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly.

Source: Kernel-Power

Task Category: (63)

Keywords: (2)

 

- System 

  - Provider 

   [ Name]  Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power 
   [ Guid]  {331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4} 
 
   EventID 41 
 
   Version 2 
 
   Level 1 
 
   Task 63 
 
   Opcode 0 
 
   Keywords 0x8000000000000002 
 
  - TimeCreated 

   [ SystemTime]  2011-09-09T20:06:59.273608400Z 
 
   EventRecordID 29771 
 
   Correlation 
 
  - Execution 

   [ ProcessID]  4 
   [ ThreadID]  8 
 
   Channel System 
 
   Computer Giedrius-PC 
 
  - Security 

   [ UserID]  S-1-5-18 
 

- EventData 

  BugcheckCode 0 
  BugcheckParameter1 0x0 
  BugcheckParameter2 0x0 
  BugcheckParameter3 0x0 
  BugcheckParameter4 0x0 
  SleepInProgress false 
  PowerButtonTimestamp 0 

 

 

And a couple of minutes later I found another error. Though I'm not sure if this has anything to do with the system crashes.

 

General: 

Microsoft Antimalware Real-Time Protection feature has encountered an error and failed. 

Feature: Behavior Monitoring 

Error Code: 0x80004005 

Error description: Unspecified error  Reason: The filter driver requires an up-to-date engine in order to function. You must install the latest definition updates in order to enable real-time protection.

 

Source: Microsoft Antimalware

Task Category: None

Keywords: Classic

 

- System 

  - Provider 

   [ Name]  Microsoft Antimalware 
 
  - EventID 3002 

   [ Qualifiers]  0 
 
   Level 2 
 
   Task 0 
 
   Keywords 0x80000000000000 
 
  - TimeCreated 

   [ SystemTime]  2011-09-09T20:07:40.000000000Z 
 
   EventRecordID 29860 
 
   Channel System 
 
   Computer Giedrius-PC 
 
   Security 
 

- EventData 

   %%860 
   3.0.8402.0 
   %%835 
   %%842 
   0x80004005 
   Unspecified error  
   5 

 

ThinkPad T520 i5-2410M(2.3GHz), 4GB RAM, 500GB 7200rpm HD, 15.6in 1600x900 LCD, NVIDIA NVS 4200M 1GB
lead_org
Posts: 20,895
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,249
Solutions: 1,341
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: OS freeze and force shutdown

are you using the 65 watt or 90 watt adapter? also are you using the laptop with the HDD installed?

Download TPFancontrol and Prime95 (install them), run the Prime95 and monitor the temperature through TPfancontrol, and see whether shutdowns occur again.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Token Ring
jmstuckman
Posts: 163
Registered: ‎07-02-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: OS freeze and force shutdown

GiedriusZ: Unfortuantely, those event log messages do not give any useful information that would allow the problem to be resolved. :smileysad:

 

In my experience, when a system freezes for a long time and then powers off, it's because there's a buggy driver that freezes the system until a kernel watchdog timer detects the lockup and generates a STOP error which automatically powers down the machine.

 

However, if you can't get a "blue screen" to appear after the forced shutdown (even if you change the settings), then the problem might be different.

 

If the problem persists, try using the restore tool to restore the system back to the factory state.

Token Ring
Wendel
Posts: 278
Registered: ‎07-03-2009
Location: USA
0

Re: OS freeze and force shutdown

When it freezes, try a ctrl-alt-del and see if you can bring up Task Manager. Then sort by CPU utilization. Hopefully one process will be noticeable.

What's DOS?
Elvis63
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-11-2011
Location: United States
0

Re: OS freeze and force shutdown

Since it is happening when you are using a lot of graphicals it could be either the vid card has a demage or the system has some overheating problem. C

 

 

Check first if the fan is running when it shutts down.

 

Second try to update the video card

Punch Card
GiedriusZ
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-07-2011
Location: Lithuania
0

Re: OS freeze and force shutdown

No the system is running cool (I told that it happens randomly. Actually it have never happened under heavy load like gaming etc., mostly when I'm browsing the internet or just reading something) during the freeze. I think it has nothing to do with the video card since I had freezes both with Intel HD and nVidia cards (unless both of them are broken?)

@Wendel, I'll try bringing up the Task Manager but I doubt it will work, cause the system just totally freezes up. I can't even move the mouse, but I'll try it the next time it happens.
ThinkPad T520 i5-2410M(2.3GHz), 4GB RAM, 500GB 7200rpm HD, 15.6in 1600x900 LCD, NVIDIA NVS 4200M 1GB