Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,845
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7

Any able to get any underclocking tools working with the ATI GPU? Something beyond PowerPlay.

AMD GPU Clock tool works with the Microsoft provided drivers, doesn't do anything with the Lenovo provided drivers, and causes a lockup (screen garbage) on any change with the ATI provided 10.10 drivers.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/670/1340, 21GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
What's DOS?
c-sadler
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-10-2010
Location: USA
0

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7

Would Lenovo consider releasing the ATI Switchable Graphics driver code and any relevant doc into the public domain?

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,845
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7

Somehow I doubt it...
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/670/1340, 21GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Token Ring
Izmi
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎10-18-2008
Location: Amsterdam
0

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7

maybe we should start to disclose our employers.

Fanfold Paper
TurboMecca
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-02-2010
Location: >Internet
0

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7

[ Edited ]

This total ignorance and inability from what I thought was THE premium business notebook-maker regarding both quality and support, is below my expectations by a good margin.

It seems that at the end of the day Lenovo is nowdays not unlike any other massproducing consumer oriented notebook maker. Only overpriced and often with a lesser performance than it's competitiors.

You can't continue devaluate the Thinkpad-brand forever without custumers taking notice.

Fool me once...

 

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,845
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7

Anything from the driver engineering team? It can't be that hard to integrate the Catalyst 10.10 drivers into the package... All that's broken is hotkey brightness, which is probably trivial.

JameZ? Anyone?
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/670/1340, 21GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
What's DOS?
Wurstschredder
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-15-2010
Location: Germany
0

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7

  • Model: T400 2767-WC8
  • BIOS version (Latest?) v3.19
  • OS loaded: Win 7 Pro x64
  • Lenovo default OS: device was shipped without OS
  • Updates from TVSU completed ? YES
  • Updates from Windows Updates ? YES
  • Power Manager Version v3.30
  • Power Management Driver v1.60.0.4
  • RAM installed: 2GB Kingston Value RAM + 2GB Samsung
  • Model of discrete card ? ATI Mobility™ Radeon™ HD 3470 Hybrid X2
  • Any error notification ? No
  • 3rd party application installed for the graphic card ? No
  • Any particular application which is running on the time this issue arises ?
  • Running on battery? Yes
  • Additional comments which you think might help. I set my device up so that the integrated graphics is active when running in battery mode. However, when waking up from standby, the battery runtime is significantly lower than when booting up clean from power off. 

Only the workaround to switch from integrated to dedicated and back again seems to be able to fix the issue in my case.

As I read, I see that another ATI driver seems to fix the issue, is that correct ?

 

At this point of time, no fixed hybrid driver is published by the driver site (I signed up for the RSS for the T400) :-/

Any help is much appreciated !

 

 

Administrator
Mark_Lenovo
Posts: 7,999
Registered: ‎11-19-2007
Location: RTP, North Carolina

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7 - FIXED AT LAST?

[ Edited ]

All,

 

We've just released new drivers and they can be downloaded on the following links.   These are for Windows 7, 32 and 64 bit and are appropriates for the switchable graphics eqipped models of R400/T400/T500/W500.

 

I am interested in feedback on these to confirm they resolve the power management concerns after resuming from suspend, and they should also ensure the on screen brightness feature works correctly.

 

[Problem fixes]
- Fixed an issue where the power consumption increased after resuming normal
  operation from sleep state.
- Fixed an issue where the LCD had blank screen after resuming normal operation
  from sleep state by opening the lid.

 

http://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc/pccbbs/mobiles/7vd616ww.txt

http://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc/pccbbs/mobiles/7vd616ww.exe

 

UPDATE:  I'm moving all the feedback on the new drivers to a new thread because the original issue has been solved by the drivers linked here.   We need to collect feedback on new symptoms and pursue resolution for those.

 

____________________________________________

ThinkPads: S30, T43, X60t, X1, W700ds, IdeaPad Y710, IdeaCentre: A300, IdeaPad K1
Mark Hopkins
Program Manager, Lenovo Social Media (Services)
twitter @lenovoforums
English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество
Serial Port
yatin
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-05-2008
Location: Ohio
0

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7 - FIXED AT LAST?

Hi Mark,

 

Thanks for posting the update. I'm sure several of us find this really useful. We'll give it a try and check if the problem is solved.

Fanfold Paper
deltazero
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-23-2009
Location: Germany
0

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7 - FIXED AT LAST?

Thank you for the update!

 

On my machine (276552G) it works properly: when waking up from sleep in integrated graphics mode  the GPU of the dedicated graphics is active for a few second but then shuts down.

 

The screen brightness feature works fine.