Support in other languages: 
Ctrl-Alt-Del
jason111neo
Accepted Solution

T400 SSD recommendations?

[ Edited ]

Im thinking of getting a SSD for my lenovo thinkpad t400. Are there any recommendations?

This because im new to this and i've read up on SATA I and II but have no clue about those. Thanks in advance~

Moderator edit: Added detail to subject.

gan
Topics: 4
Kudos: 110
Solutions: 108

Re: SSD

[ Edited ]

I would recommend getting a Intel X25-M G2. You can choose between 80gb and 160gb. I bought a Intel X25-M, 160gb SSD some time ago and it gave me a real performance boost and i had no issues so far. I would really recommend this product for anyone looking for a SSD to replace the HDD for a laptop.

You can find more info here:

http://www.intel.com/design/flash/nand/productinformation.htm

And a pretty comprehensive review here:

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/Intel-x25-m-SSD,2012.html

(you can also find some benchmarks at www.tomshardware.com)

Intel also have the X25-E and X25-V models. The X25-E got higher performance and is supposed to last longer since it's SLC while the X25-M is MLC. The X25-E is very expensive and only available as 32 or 64gb. The X25-M is available as 80gb and 160gb and still perform very good and much better than a standard laptop HDD. I don't know much about the X25-V model, but it's only available as a 40gb. They are all SATA II and that' what you want. Not sure if it's even possible to get a SATA I SSD. Also make sure you buy the Intel X25-M G2 and not G1 if you decide to buy one.

Intel also got the X18 series. The difference between X25 and X18 is that the X25 is 2.5" (what you want for the T400) and the X18 is 1.8".

There is a lot that can be told about SSD's, but you could take a look at the product information from Intel and check out the review. If you need some more help or got some questions you could post in this forum and i'm sure a lot of people can assist you and answer any questions you might have.

-gan