Support in other languages: 
Reply
Token Ring
samurai123
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
Location: USA
0

T400 and AMT

How to find out if my laptop has AMT support or not? 

 

I don't see AMT option in the BIOS which is latest.  I tried to install the AMT firmware but it came out quickly saying the installation is finished after extracting the package.  I read that there is a jumper on the motherboard somewhere which enables AMT.

 

Thanks

 

ajkula66
Posts: 7,363
Kudos: 696
Solutions: 732
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
0

Re: T400 and AMT

There are no jumpers on the motherboard.

 

Presuming that you've downloaded and extracted the driver, you're only half way there. In XP, you'd need to go into C>Drivers>win> and run the setup file from there.

 

Without knowing what OS you're running it's difficult to guide you further.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: T43pSF, R60F, T410, W510

Backups: T60, T61p, R500F

For sale: T60 (15" SXGA+ IPS), T61p (14" SXGA+ & 15.4" WUXGA),

Rebuilding: A31p, T42p, X24

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W

I build FrankenPads....scary FrankenPads...

S = SATA-mod (on T43/p units only)
F = FrankenPad
L = LED-mod utilizing an UXGA AFFS LED screen


Please DO NOT PM me with requests for individual support, but post your questions and concerns in the appropriate section of the forum where other users can benefit from them as well. Thank you.
.
Token Ring
samurai123
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: T400 and AMT

[ Edited ]

Thanks.  The OS is Windows Vista 64 Business.

 

I tried to manually run the MEUPD.CMD it says TPM is in owned state , owners passsword required. 

I tried the password, changed one and tried again but still same error.   MeInfowin shows the details though.

 

Any idea?

Community Moderator
richk
Posts: 2,102
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Location: San Francisco
0

Re: T400 and AMT

Many machines do not have AMT hardware. It is generally used in a business environment to manage a group of machines centrally
Token Ring
samurai123
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: T400 and AMT

It seems my laptop has AMT

 

MEInfoWin show this:

 

AMT SKU Found.
Intel(R) MEInfo Win Version: 4.2.50.1053

BIOS Version: 7UET93WW (3.23 )

Intel(R) AMT code versions:
Flash: 4.0.3
Netstack: 4.0.3
Apps: 4.0.3
Intel(R) AMT: 4.0.3
SKU: ASF IAMT ITPM
VendorID: 8086
Build Number: 1124

Intel(R) AMT Mode:
Link status: Link down
Cryptography fuse: Enabled
Flash protection: Enabled
Last ME reset reason: Power up
Configuration state: Not started
BIOS boot State: Post Boot
Host Mac Address: 00-xx.yy..zz..aa..bb
Wireless MAC address:Error: Firmware status is not success
Please check if the Wireless card is installed
FWU Override Counter: Always
FWU Override Qualifier: Always
Wireless Driver Version: Not Available
Wireless Hardware Version: Not Available
UNS Version: Not available
LMS Version: Not Available
MEI Driver version: 4.2.0.1008
MEBx Version: 4.0.4.7
FT Version: 4.0
FT Build Number: 1124
Manageability Mode: AMT
Local FWUpdate: Enabled
Secure FWUpdate: Enabled
TPM Vendor ID: INTC
TPM SPEC Version: 1.2.4.0
TPM FW Version: 4.0
TPM Firmware Build Number: 1124
TPM State: Operational
TPM Operational Mode: Enabled Owned Active
iTPM - FIPS 140-2 : False
iTPM - Failed Attempts Threshold:100
iTPM - Initial lockout period: 16
iTPM - Lockout multiplier: 2
iTPM - Fade-out period: 3600
iTPM - Physical presence life time lock flag : True
iTPM - Physical presence command enabled flag : True
iTPM - Physical presence HW enabled flag : False
TPM fuses (MCH/ICH/soft strap MCH/ soft strap ICH): Enabled
FW behavior on Flash Descriptor Override Pin-Strap: Halt

 

 

Token Ring
samurai123
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: T400 and AMT

This is the error I get when TPM is disabled using tpm.msc 

 

Trying to connect to MEI driver.

Communication Mode: TPM

Error (8729): TPM in owned state, owner password is required

*************************************

Please check the error message above.

*************************************

 

This is the error I get when TPM is disabled in the BIOS

 

Trying to connect to MEI driver.

Communication Mode: TPM

Error (8733): Firmware update tool failed to locate TPM device driver

*************************************

Please check the error message above.

*************************************

Broadband 3G
JDay
Posts: 999
Registered: ‎01-06-2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
0

Re: T400 and AMT

If the Intel sticker says vPro on it you have AMT.