Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Blue Screen Again
mjs1902
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Location: Baltimore, MD USA
0

T400s Windows 7 SP1

New to this forum, but I am supporting a combination of T400s, T410, T510, Edge 15 and Edge 17.  Have installed SP1 on two T410s wihout incident.  Has anyone installed on T400s?  This is critical to me personally as this is my home/work laptop.

802.11n
Ideasmiths
Posts: 305
Registered: ‎02-20-2008
Location: Bedok, Singapore
0

Re: T400s Windows 7 SP1

IMHO, I don't see any incident....much

 

I installed the SP1 on my T410s yesterday and noticed that it did some encryption of the cabinets files after the first reboot. In my case, I noticed that after successful installation, my bootup time increased significantly as it was waiting for 'something'. I traced it to Kaspersky Internet Security which I did a 'repair' and after that it works just fine.

 

However, I am not sure if the 'encryption' messed up some of the secured stuff of KIS, so if you have some of these similar security, you should backup your files first

Blue Screen Again
mjs1902
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Location: Baltimore, MD USA
0

Re: T400s Windows 7 SP1

[ Edited ]

Did Lenovo recovery backup to bootable external drive. Install went without a hitch. Would advise that if you have a fast internet connection to download the version of SP1 that your system will need (x32, x64) and install from your local drive. The files are 500mb for x32 and almost 1gb for x64. The install took a good 25-30 minutes on my x64 and SSD drive.

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 7,075
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: T400s Windows 7 SP1

It's probably better to let Windows Update download SP1; it doesn't have to download the entire install package, only the smaller portion of it that pertains to your system.

The install itself took 30 minutes on my X100e (MV-40, 7x86, 250GB 5400RPM Seagate) but MSCORSVW ran for a fair while after that, as expected.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/670/1340, 21GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
lead_org
Posts: 20,905
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,254
Solutions: 1,343
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: T400s Windows 7 SP1

My t400s was updated to sp1 last week and there is no problem.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft