Support in other languages: 
Reply
Paper Tape
RobertoS
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Italy
0

T410 3G locked to Verizon?

[ Edited ]
Hi,
 
Thii is my1st post , as owner of a thinkpad T410 253797G. It's win7 32 bit system.
I've a data SIM with italian TIM mobile, well working in a honda usb.
When i insert the sim in T410 sim bay (under battery), my system is able to see it (the imei and ata of the sim), but is not able to use it.
Of course i turned onf wireless connection by Fn F5, anche I'm able to swith on wifi and blueT. But not wan.
I've installed all modem drivers, but it seems i've to reister at Verizon...
Is it a locked modem wih verizon broadband ?
 
Thank you  very much for suggestion
 
Roberto

Moderator edit: Matched subject to content.
billbolton
Posts: 1,832
Topics: 68
Kudos: 165
Solutions: 103
Registered: ‎12-02-2007
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth
0

Re: T410 3G locked to Verizon?


RobertoS wrote:
 
I've a data SIM with italian TIM mobile,


The very first thing you need to do is make sure that the WAN card you have in your ThinkPad is capable of operating on the 3G band used by TIM.

 

As far as I can tell, TIM is operating 3G on the 900Mhz band, but its not clear to me what WWAN card you have in your T410.

 

Cheers,

 

Bill

------------------------------
I don't work for Lenovo
Paper Tape
RobertoS
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Italy
0

Re: T410 3G locked to Verizon?

Hi billbolton

and thank you for fast answer.

In my computer resources I read: Qualcomm Gobi 2000 HS-USB Mobile Broadband Device 9205.I suppose this is the card we are talking about.

I'll take a look about TIM operating MHz, and this card, because I do not know about it...

Hope it's not locked in using only Verizon sim.

Do you know about it ?

Thanks , ciao

Paper Tape
RobertoS
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Italy
0

Re: T410 3G locked to Verizon?

Hi

 

The TIM opetator explained me wwan band are the same in Europe and there wouldn't be trouble in using a TIM (italian 3G) SIM on a german Laptom.

TIM bad are the ones of UMTS and HSDPA, same in europe.

So, I've no idea.

 

I tried as mentioned on lenovo post (  ) to install drivers without Verizon, but nothing is changed:

 

radio on, Fn+F5: impossible to turn on wan.

I'm abrle to read SIM IMEI, but not to use it.

Alway appears verizon logo, asking to activate the SIM ?!?!?

 

Any Idea ?

 

thank you

 

Roberto

Broadband 3G
JDay
Posts: 999
Registered: ‎01-06-2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
0

Re: T410 3G locked to Verizon?


RobertoS wrote:

Hi

 

The TIM opetator explained me wwan band are the same in Europe and there wouldn't be trouble in using a TIM (italian 3G) SIM on a german Laptom.

TIM bad are the ones of UMTS and HSDPA, same in europe.

So, I've no idea.

 

I tried as mentioned on lenovo post (  ) to install drivers without Verizon, but nothing is changed:

 

radio on, Fn+F5: impossible to turn on wan.

I'm abrle to read SIM IMEI, but not to use it.

Alway appears verizon logo, asking to activate the SIM ?!?!?

 

Any Idea ?

 

thank you

 

Roberto


I had an issue where I could not turn on the WWAN card in the T510 a while back, reflashed the BIOS (same version) and it worked again. You may want to try that.

billbolton
Posts: 1,832
Topics: 68
Kudos: 165
Solutions: 103
Registered: ‎12-02-2007
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth
0

Re: T410 3G locked to Verizon?

Are you trying to establish the 3G connection through the ThinkVantage Access Connections utility, or by some other method?


Cheers,

 

Bill

------------------------------
I don't work for Lenovo
Paper Tape
RobertoS
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Italy
0

Re: T410 3G locked to Verizon?

Hi,


In a Lenovo support dovument "Setting the default carrier firmware when installing GOBI 2000 driver - ThinkPad" I found :

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/MIGR-72938.html

By default, the GOBI 2000 driver from Lenovo site, installs the Verizon carrier firmware.

The \WWANQL\Driver\SETUP.EXE for the GOBI 2000 driver allows setting the firmware
when the driver is installed by using the option DEFAULTIMAGE=<directory number>.
The directories numbers are:
0. Vodafone Image
1. Verizon Image
2. AT&T Image
3. Sprint Image
4. T-Mobile Image
6. Generic UMTS Image
7. Telefonica Image
8. Telecom Italia Image
9. Orange Image
12. DoCoMo Image

I tried defaultimage=8, but In Lenovo Access Connection I'm able to see my SIM card (IMEI etc...) but I'm not able to connect.
The error message says SIM to register or No broadband coverage in the area.
Same place usb Onda modem works fine with same TIM SIM...

My opinion is that:

Or the Qualcomm Gobi 2000 as a hardware problem (..even if i do not think so...)
Or the problem is with Lenovo  firmware that doesn't work fine with different carriers than Verizon, even if installed as

mentioned above.

I found an interesting article here : http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Qualcomm_Gobi_2000 (even if for linux) and something about

a Gobiloader...how to use it and where to download those firmware for win 7 ?


Thak you very much..

Roberto