Support in other languages: 
Reply
What's DOS?
surajshikhar
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-24-2011
Location: India
0

T410 Network Adapter Issue

I have a Lenovo Thinkpad  T410 with WIndows 7 . It has "Intel 82577LM Gigabit " network adapter. The issue is that , sometimes, my laptop doesn't connect to the internet. The problem is very intermittent. There is no issue with my wired network connectivity , as I'm able to connect to my Sony Vaio Windows 7 laptop without any problem.

I have tried everything I could get on Internet forums. I updated the network driver also. But the issue still occurs sometimes, and after a few hours , inexplicably, it starts working fine.

 

Any help would be most appreciated.

 

Thanks,

Suraj

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,377
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: T410 Network Adapter Issue

[ Edited ]

The Intel 82577LM Gigabit network adapter IS the wired network adapter.

Could it be that the wireless is going into power saving mode?

 

Try holding the connection by doing a

ping 192.168.1.1 /t

Where 192.168.1.1 is the IP of your router.

 

EDIT: Never mind, I misunderstood your post. Likewise, is the Ethernet adapter going into power saving mode after a while?

W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1090/695/1390, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
What's DOS?
surajshikhar
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-24-2011
Location: India
0

Re: T410 Network Adapter Issue

Thanks for your reply. 

I'm not sure , if the issue is due to "power saving mode" , since it usually occurs when I switch my laptop either in the morning , or at night (when I'm back from work) . can the adapter go in "power saving mode" immediately after startup?

 

I'm not sure , how do I see my router IP. I use a fibre optic wired connection. I did "ipconfig" and tried "default gateway" as the router IP to your command , but I see "Request timed out" , even when currently , my internet connection is up and running.

 

Just another question - is there a remote chance that it might be a hardware issue , and no amount of adapter reinstallation or OS reinstallation will help ? If that is the case, I might as well , raise a ticket, since it's still under warranty.

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,377
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: T410 Network Adapter Issue

[ Edited ]

Try an Ubuntu LiveUSB/LiveCD and see if it has issues there.

Did you disable the DHCP or DNS service? Maybe the DHCP lease is timing out and it's not trying to get a new one.

 

Also, try turning off the wireless adapter using Fn+F5 to rule out any conflicts.

W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1090/695/1390, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
What's DOS?
surajshikhar
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-24-2011
Location: India
0

Re: T410 Network Adapter Issue

It's a company provided laptop with no admin rights, so I'm afraid I can't try different things.

I checked Windows Services and I see both "DHCP Client" and "DNS client" as "started" and startup type as "Automatic".

The wireless is disabled by default.

Maliha
Posts: 3,224
Registered: ‎07-31-2008
Location: Pakistan
0

Re: T410 Network Adapter Issue

 


surajshikhar wrote:

The wireless is disabled by default.


 

Hi and welcome to the forum surajshikhar!


There is a hardware switch on the right side of the notebook, verify it's in "on" position, when you put it in a bag/sleeve there is a chance of it sliding to off position. I would also recommend checking in the BIOS that wifi connectivity is turned on in there. As Colonel suggested, also check/turn on the wireless status via Fn+F5.


If you've intermittent wifi connectivity issue, then take a look at this solved thread:- http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/T400-T500-and-newer-T-series/T410s-Disconnecting-Reconnecting/m-p/360295...


Keep us posted.

------------------------------------------------------------

Maliha (I don't work for lenovo)
ThinkPads:- T400[Win 7], T60[Win 7], IBM 240[Win XP]

IdeaPad: U350

Apple:- Macbook Air [Snow Leopard]
Did someone help you today? Compliment them with a
Kudos!
Was your question answered today? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
de.gif  Lenovo Deutsche Community   es.gif  Lenovo Comunidad en Español 
Visit my YouTube Channel

What's DOS?
surajshikhar
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-24-2011
Location: India
0

Re: T410 Network Adapter Issue

[ Edited ]

Thanks your for your ideas, Maliha.

The hardware switch on the right-side is for wireless , I guess and I'm using a wired internet connection.

I did the 1st suggestion on the link, but couldn't do the 2nd one, as it needs Admin rights.

 

Also, I want to clarify that my issue is intermittent in the sense that somedays, when I switch on my laptop, I'm not able to connect to the internet. But on some other days, when I'm able to connect, it works perfectly fine the whole day, without any glitch.

It's NOT that, I keep loosing the connection , every few minutes or hours.

Maliha
Posts: 3,224
Registered: ‎07-31-2008
Location: Pakistan
0

Re: T410 Network Adapter Issue

If you're talking about wired connection, try this:-


1. Click the "Start" button and choose "Control Panel" from the Start menu.

2. Click "Device Manager" on the "Control Panel."

3. Click the arrow icon next to "Network Adapters" to extend the category.

4. Right-click on your network card and choose "Properties" from the menu.

5. Navigate to the "Power Management" tab.

6. Remove the check in the box next to "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power."

7. Click the "OK" button to confirm the new settings. 


Let us know how it goes.

------------------------------------------------------------

Maliha (I don't work for lenovo)
ThinkPads:- T400[Win 7], T60[Win 7], IBM 240[Win XP]

IdeaPad: U350

Apple:- Macbook Air [Snow Leopard]
Did someone help you today? Compliment them with a
Kudos!
Was your question answered today? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
de.gif  Lenovo Deutsche Community   es.gif  Lenovo Comunidad en Español 
Visit my YouTube Channel

What's DOS?
surajshikhar
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-24-2011
Location: India
0

Re: T410 Network Adapter Issue

Thank you for your suggestion. I don't see the 'Power Management' tab, since I think I need to log in as Admin.

Next time, the problem occurs, I will take it to the System Admin guys and get this setting changed.