Support in other languages: 
Blue Screen Again
masterllama

T410: Serious Problem with the Video Drivers

I am a music producer and DJ.  I'm also a computer programmer, so I'm very comfortable with computers.

I got my T410 just a few days ago in the mail with the intent of using it as my main laptop while djing.

However, there have been constant audio dropouts, both with external hardware and the computer speakers.

The problem is definitely coming from DPC latency.

I manually debugged the computer and I traced the problem to the Nvidia graphics drivers.  I tried using the standard microsoft vga drivers, and voila the problem was fixed.

There is a big flaw in the graphics drivers, but most people probably don't notice it unless they're dealing with audio exclusively like I do.

Apparently this has been a huge problem with dell/alienware laptops, but they just recently released a fix involving both bios and new graphics drivers.  I'm hoping lenovo can do the same.

For those who have a t400/t410 and also are using an Nvidia card, it would be extremely helpful if you reported your DPC latency.  You can check your DPC latency with this lightweight tool: http://www.thesycon.de/deu/latency_check.shtml 

Most machines get only green bars, even under high load.  My t410 gets constant yellow and red spikes, even when idling.  If others could report their results, it'd be extremely helpful.

I've already opened a case and am going to be sending the machine back soon, though i doubt it'll fix the problem.  If i can't fix this, I'm going to have to ask for a refund.  This is not a small bug, it is a serious problem.  This laptop, as of now, is completely useless for djing and any type of music production.

Note - a few people were able to fix the problem by disabling nvidia powermizer.  Unfortunately, i've been unable to do this with the 3100m card.  If anyone has done this, please let me know.

Ctrl-Alt-Del
taijohn

Re: T410: Serious Problem with the Video Drivers

Hello,