Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Paper Tape
gnguyen102
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
Location: Houston, TX
0

T410 doesn't power on

My machine: T410 Windows 7, up-to-date will all windows update as of May 2012, i5, 2 years no-issues,

 

The issue: when I press the power button like usual, it won't start (nothing happens). When I remove the power/battery, press the power button repeatedly, it powers on and asked to update time (F1), i update the time and it goes into Windows repair mode for about 10 seconds then powers down. This entire fix/auto-power-down happens each time I try to fix by pressing power button with power/battery removed. 

 

Please help let me know what I should do. 

 

Best,

 

 

Community Moderator
richk
Posts: 2,482
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Location: San Francisco
0

Re: T410 doesn't power on

First, many of these came with 3-year warranty.  Check here:

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/product-service/warranty-status/default.page?

Paper Tape
gnguyen102
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
Location: Houston, TX
0

Re: T410 doesn't power on

[ Edited ]

Thanks Richk, my warranty expired 1 year ago :-(

Community Moderator
richk
Posts: 2,482
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Location: San Francisco
0

Re: T410 doesn't power on

One thing I would try is the cmos battery because it loses date-time.  If the cmos battery is shorted (not very likely) it can act like that.  I would also try ac only.  (main battery removed)

Bit Torrent
tripplec
Posts: 1,472
Registered: ‎03-08-2012
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
0

Re: T410 doesn't power on

Yep, CMOS problem and likely the battery. Why, they should last at least 5-10 years. More than most people would use them.
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QM CPU @ 2.50GHz
Intel Sandy Bridge & Nvidia NVS 4200M graphics Intel N 6300 Wi-Fi adapter
Windows 7 Home Prem - 64bit w/8GB DDR3
Paper Tape
sticeaeduard
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-13-2014
0

Re: T410 doesn't power on

did you solved the problem ? i have t410 with the same problem .